Awesome Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Nice elend of flavors and can be prepared without too mych effort or time involved. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
The best ever, I could eat this everyday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Marinating in buttermilk for 24 hours is the tender, flavorable secret. I drained then shook a couple pieces at a time in 1 cup Bisquick, added 1/2 Tbsp Paprika, 2 t salt and 1/2 t pepper. Instead of frying, try oven at 425*. In 13x9 baking dish spray with PAM heavy, put chunks of unsalted butter and put empty dish into oven until melted. Remove and put in pieces, bake 25 min - turn and bake 25 min more. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
The basic idea of this recipe is good, but it really needs more spice. I found it to be rather bland. Adding more spices really gave it more flavor. Using the buttermilk was a great idea because it really helped the flour mixture to stay on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I tried this recipe for dinner, and it was a huge it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Sadly enough, I feel as though money was thrown out the window with this recipe. I have to say that I don't think anyone who has left a 4-5 star review, actually know what really great fried chicken is. I really hate to even give it one star. This was not "awesome"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My family and I loved this recipe. This was the very first time I made fried chicken. It came out delicious!! I recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I had difficulty getting some ingredients here in UK especially dry Italian seasoning but made up something with a few herbs and spices. I liked the result. Marinading in butter milk is a really good idea. (For UK readers, butter milk can be found at Tesco). I cooked the chicken in an oven, 200C, since I don't use deep frying. I sprayed the dish with olive oil, put the chicken in then sprayed it as well. Next time I'll adapt the coating by using bread crumbs and perhaps substitute the Italian seasoning with some lemon zest, or another strong flavoured fruit, some crushed bay leaves, and some basil, ground pepper, perhaps some lemon grass. My wife suggests putting the chicken seasoning into the marinade instead of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I just realized now that I forgot to add the poultry seasoning...for that, I will give this 4 stars only. The family liked it; the chicken was very crispy. I didn't measure out the salt in the marinade, and perhaps I should have, it could have used a slight bit more. Aside from keeping the oil hot enough to cook, this was a very good dish, although a very time consuming one at that. I will make this again (and hopefully remember all of the ingredients!) but not too often, as it really does make quite an oily mess too. Thanks for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Anyone who would say that this recipe was like throwing money out the window needs to serve at a food kitchen for just one day. Absolutely nothing wrong with this recipe or the seasonings. My only problem was getting the chicken pieces to cook throughly. I did use dark meat, which takes longer anyway, but twenty minutes just didn't seem to do it even tho I used a candy thermometer. I had to place the meat in the oven for about fifteen minutes. Nontheless, it was tasty, crispy and enjoyed by my gang. Thanks Lora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States