Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were really awesome. I used ground turkey instead of the shrimp and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great eggroll recipe. I made it using a bag of coleslaw mix and also baked the eggrolls instead of deep frying them. This works great with chicken or pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calirolls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was great- but I cheated a bit. I used a bag of slaw and instead of shrimp browned some ground pork. I baked these in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes and brushed them with an egg wash. They turned out crispy brown and very tasty! I served them with La Choy Sweet and Sour sauce, but next time will make my own sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
awesome! The wrappers tear VERY easily so next time I think I will double or triple up on those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were ok. Nice texture. I substituted chicken for shrimp, but very bland. Seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinlairen
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
We split this recipe into 2 bowls, one with 4 oz. shrimp and the other with a shredded slow-cooked porksteak. Skipped the onion and celery & added more bean sprouts. We didn't care for the shrimp ones at ALL, but the pork ones were heavenly!! Even my son, who claims to dislike chinese food, ate 3!! Thanks for an excellent new recipe for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I'm amazed at how easy these were to make. I don't like shrimp, so I substituted 4 oz of cooked ground chicken. We fried them and ate them with duck sauce, and they were great. I tried baking some, too-- I don't recommend it as the wrapper just became tough and chewy. I didn't cook all of the egg rolls right away so i put them in the fridge to make the next day, and the wrappers became soggy and gooey. I recommend cooking all the egg rolls at once and then refrigerate and reheat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really good, I don't recommend baking them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
First time making Egg Rolls. I followed recipe except I used fresh garlic not powder. Very, Very good. My family gobbled them down, almost without breathing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Another recipe that deserves more than the five stars allowed!! This was my first time making egg rolls (even after 30-plus years of cooking, the concept always seemed too intimidating to try), and they turned out to be the most fantastic egg rolls my husband and I have ever had. I did eliminate the bean sprouts...only because I did not have any in the house...and I steamed and chopped fresh shrimp instead of using canned. I also subbed dried red-pepper flakes for the black pepper, and these came out tasting better than my now "OLD-favorite" egg rolls at my favorite Thai restaurant. These proved so much easier to make than I ever could have imagined. I found that I did not need the cornstarch mixture to seal the wrappers; I used the moisture from the bottom of the bowl that the filling had been sitting in. I had absolutely no issues with the wraps coming apart, and didn't need to use any toothpicks. This is a fantastic recipe!! I would urge anyone who loves egg rolls to try this recipe; you will be shocked at how easy they are to make. Thank you so much for posting this recipe Rouver, I will be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States