Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I have made these so many times and every time they are better than the last time. I put all the veggies (separately) into the food processor for a whirl and i had these eggrolls ready in about 15 minutes! I left the meat (shrimp) out for my vegetarian son and he always LOVES this meal.. The trick that makes these so good is that the filling is not cooked like eggrolls I've made in the past. I put any veggie i have in the fridge in the mix. broccoli, cabbage, carrots, cilantro, celery. we dipped in teriyaki sauce, black bean/garlic sauce, the 'rooster' sauce and soy sauce. I think my son ate 10 or so!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We loved this recipe. I already had a egg roll recipe, so I sorta combined the two. I added chicken instead of shrimp, along with green onion, cabbage,matchstick carrots, left out the bean sprout because the store didn't have it. My husband said these were the best he has ever had, even better than some of the Chinese restaurants we have been to. Thanks for another great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drea S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was my first time trying to make egg rolls and I have to say this is a good one. Very easy to make I did take the advice of other reviews and used coleslaw mix. I wouldn't recommend frying them it hold to much grease, so I'll bake the next time but this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was my very first time making egg rolls. This was a great and easy recipe! The egg rolls turned out fantastic and the whole family enjoyed them. I used 2 cups less then the called for amount of cabbage and still had plenty to fill the rolls. I will definetly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
joined a CSA, so I'm on the look-out for new ways to use my veggies... I was generally OVER cabbage, so stoked on doing some egg rolls. These were awesome and not too difficult to make. I didn't really change anything other than my egg roll wrappers didn't need cornstarch/egg to stay together. The only difficult part was getting the frying perfect, but it doesn't really matter--they taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Makes a lot! I broiled, not fried them and had to freeze most of them. Hopefully they'll bake up nice again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These are way good! I've made it exactly according to the recipe, and it was good, except for the shrimp. We've since substituted chicken or pork and prefer it that way. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used a bag of coleslaw mix, and also used a couple of cans of pre-cooked chicken breast. What a time saver. It takes this recipe from something I would only make on weekends to one that could be done during the week. This last time I made it, I added a little sesame oil to the filling for flavor. This has now become a staple recipe in our house. No more frozen egg rolls from the store. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Awesome is right!! These were sooooo good. They were gobbled us as quickly as they were assembled and fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this recipe is similar to my moms recipe. we use coleslaw mix as well to cut on time and nix the shrimp and use 1 tube pork sausage. we toss every thing into a wok stir occasionaly and roll away. we tend to make a HUGE batch and have an egg rolling party with the family. there never seems to be enough so i suggest making a few batches and freezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My BF says they're the best eggrolls he's ever had. (And trust me, he tells me the truth when it comes to dinner...doesn't want to be served something twice if he didn't like it the first time!) Very easy and the result is great! I skipped the sprouts and made "2 servings" and this filled 6 eggroll wrappers. Definitely worth repeating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States