Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made these today, I changed the recipe a bit: I used pork seasoned with pepper, garlic, salt, and onions. I also added twice as much soy sauce, and used no cornstarch. They were AMAZING to say the least! Just as good if not better than take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very good. My only complaint is my husband says we are not ordering egg rolls out again. What have I done ! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
great even if you freeze. Just finished enjoying my second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
FABULOUS! We loved these! I didn't use shrimp, instead I add a tsp of fish sauce, and some chopped cooked chicken. Also, didn't have bean sprouts, I think this is a great basice recipe that you can cater to your family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Easy and your family loves you for making them. Good family time together. I did use cole slaw mix because of recommendations to do so and it was a great idea. I had leftover pork so I chopped that up instead of the shrimp. I baked some and fried some. The baked stayed crispier longer but both tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very impressed was extremely easy and a wonderful way to use an excess of cabbage in the fall garden. I also tried with white meat chicken, and have tweaked flavoring to my taste! sorry! But without this wonderful recipe, I would have been lost! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is a nice recipe, did'nt have egg roll wrappers so I used spring roll wrappers and it worked out just fine. Added just a little fish sauce to give it an extra kick, and some fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The egg destroyed the flavor and texture. I added turmeric and 5 spice powder. I also sauteed cabbage mixture until just starting to wilt so it wouldn't poke through wrapper AND there wouldn't be large air pockets when cabbage wilted. Recipe on back of wrapper much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used a mix of vegetables, using this recipe as a guide for a vegetarian egg roll. I served this as a tortilla, made with spelt flour, so I didn't fry this. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these as written and found these to be just OK. With the use of my food processor, it made the shredding and chopping go quickly and easily. However, I agree with some of the other reviews that the filling needs to be partially cooked prior to assembling the rolls. I found them too crunchy otherwise. I would also add more shrimp, as 4 ounces just aren't enough. I will make these again, but certainly tweak them to suit our taste. Thanks for sharing, it's a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States