Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are excellent, I baked them at 400 for 20 mins. then fried them lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dot's Calm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
this was very good.. cut the recipe in half and it made about 8 rolls.. used fresh shrimp and im sure it was more than 2 oz (I've never had canned shrimp and was afraid to try them).. left out the egg and the cornstarch.. oven baked these.. we werent in the mood to deal with the fryer that night.. ty so much for the recipe.. bf is dying to try these deep fried =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was good. I did substitute the cabbage and carrots with prepackaged green cabbage and carrots for coleslaw. That was perfect also. Update: made everything from scratch with Shrimp. It was great! I tried baking half of the eggrolls and they were not good baked. These have to be fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made this twice, the first time I added a bit of shredded cooked chicken, but otherwise followed the recipe. We didn't care for the "gummy-ness" of the cornstarch. Having made egg rolls many times over the years, the second time I also added the chicken, but also added some Asian Five Spice powder 1/4 tsp or so. Quickly sauted the filling until slightly wilted and the cornstarch became more incorporated. Then allowed filling to cool and proceeded. We like the results much better and the Five Spice gives it a very authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Love it! For a shortcut I used the bagged, shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Excelsior Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is such a good recipe. I baked mine at 400 for 25 minutes (mine came out floury tasting because I neglected to see the wrappers needed to be brushed with oil before baking... hey this was my first time making anything like this!). I also used the coleslaw with carrots, and substituted chicken for shrimp. The filling tastes just like my favorite Chinese food place! My whole family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Awesome for homemade egg rolls. I substituted chicken for the shrimp but everything else was the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
It didn't taste as good as the one with beef. A little too sweet for me and I just don't like that my food has a sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was my first time making egg rolls and they turned out wonderfully. I didn't use sprouts, because I'm not a sprout kind of girl, and I subbed in shredded chicken. Took some of the other reviewers' advice and used 3T of soy sauce, but next time I might use 4T. I got 18 in my batch. Fried up 6 and froze the others unfried in two batches to use later. My boyfriend loved them. Said they were better than any frozen egg rolls we'd tried. I thought they were, too. Wanted to take a picture but we ate them too fast! Thanks, Rouver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
My 13 yr old son ate 5 of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States