Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made this last night for my husband and myself. I used Napa cabbage instead of regular cabbage and I cooked whole shrimp fresh then chopped up and added to mix instead of canned. It was amazing, my husband said it was better than when we order Chinese. I will be saving this recipe to use again and again, going to change out shrimp for chicken next time and see what that turns out like. Makes a good number of egg rolls as well so if only cooking for 2-4 people no need to double up on anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
These are very good. I added a tbl of fresh ginger. I fried some and baked some at 400 for 30 minutes and I didn't like the baked ones at all. I had the wrappers sitting out while I prepared everything and some dried up. Next time I will keep in the refrigerator. If you have never made egg rolls, do yourself a favor and watch a few quick You Tube videos on wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I used the coleslaw (shredded cabbage/carrot )mixture in a bag to save time. Also diced some onion and added some cut up pregrilled chicken strips and a few sprinkles of Simply Asia Sweet Ginger Garlic seasoning. I don't use soy because of the high sodium so I always sub coconut aminos. These came out great-my husband was a huge fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I used a slaw mix with carrots so I didn't add more carrot. Omitted the onion and fried egg. I had cooked shrimp 60-70/# and used 15-17 minced for the canned shrimp. We got 15 egg rolls (to match the number of wrappers in the pkg.) Delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This recipe was fantastic and super easy. I didn't use shrimp or bean sprouts though, and instead of shrimp I cooked some sausage. I also added about 1/8 t. ginger, used about 2X the amount of onion, and added a dash of Teriyaki sauce. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Very good! Made them tonight and no leftovers. They were very greasy, so I will probably try baking them next time, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Was good. I didn't follow the recipe as it was written. I used a bag of cole slaw mix & shredded some baby carrots I had on hand. Didn't use the sprouts or celery. Instead of shrimp I cooked some small pork chops on my George foreman, chopped them up & put those in the mixture. I didn't have fresh ginger but I did use some dry ginger- that added so much to the flavor. I modified the recipe to four servings for 3 people and after cooking 5 egg rolls I still have 5 left to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was a great recipe to build confidence to try making egg rolls for the first time. The whole family enjoyed them. We are going to try some variances for our own tastes but this was a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great just needed salt to be included. Will keep this one for the books. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
LAWRENCE FAV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States