Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this recipe is similar to my moms recipe. we use coleslaw mix as well to cut on time and nix the shrimp and use 1 tube pork sausage. we toss every thing into a wok stir occasionaly and roll away. we tend to make a HUGE batch and have an egg rolling party with the family. there never seems to be enough so i suggest making a few batches and freezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My BF says they're the best eggrolls he's ever had. (And trust me, he tells me the truth when it comes to dinner...doesn't want to be served something twice if he didn't like it the first time!) Very easy and the result is great! I skipped the sprouts and made "2 servings" and this filled 6 eggroll wrappers. Definitely worth repeating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These are a holiday tradition at our house. To make the recipe easier, I use a bag of cole slaw that can be found in the refrigerated produce section by the bags of salad. I also add finely chop bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. Don't forget the hot Chinese mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I haven't been able to have egg rolls for 6 years due to a gluten (wheat) intolerance. I made these last night as a treat to myself. I used rice papers instead of egg roll wrappers and I baked them instead of frying them. They tasted almost exactly like the real thing. YAY!!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
As other reviews suggested I added oyster sauce. These were ok..but my family thought they were 'bland' and missing something. I'm must not sure what it is that is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good. I gave it four stars because we didn't care for the cabbage just shredded. The second time I made it, I shredded, then chopped the cabbage fairly fine and we like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These were my first attempt at eggrolls and they were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting firm tofu for the shrimp. I also baked the rolls instead as other reviewers had suggested and used the broiler in the last couple minutes and they turned out super crispy you would never know they weren't fried. I would recomment sealing the edges completely instead of just the corners if you are going to fry because i didn't have a tight seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were really awesome. I used ground turkey instead of the shrimp and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great eggroll recipe. I made it using a bag of coleslaw mix and also baked the eggrolls instead of deep frying them. This works great with chicken or pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calirolls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was great- but I cheated a bit. I used a bag of slaw and instead of shrimp browned some ground pork. I baked these in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes and brushed them with an egg wash. They turned out crispy brown and very tasty! I served them with La Choy Sweet and Sour sauce, but next time will make my own sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States