Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The egg destroyed the flavor and texture. I added turmeric and 5 spice powder. I also sauteed cabbage mixture until just starting to wilt so it wouldn't poke through wrapper AND there wouldn't be large air pockets when cabbage wilted. Recipe on back of wrapper much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used a mix of vegetables, using this recipe as a guide for a vegetarian egg roll. I served this as a tortilla, made with spelt flour, so I didn't fry this. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these as written and found these to be just OK. With the use of my food processor, it made the shredding and chopping go quickly and easily. However, I agree with some of the other reviews that the filling needs to be partially cooked prior to assembling the rolls. I found them too crunchy otherwise. I would also add more shrimp, as 4 ounces just aren't enough. I will make these again, but certainly tweak them to suit our taste. Thanks for sharing, it's a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this on jan. 8th 2012. I must say this was different and good I made for a big crowd two kinds one regular like the recipe and one adding oyster sauce with spanish spices. I did not use the required oil but, I used olive oil and I baked in oven instead of frying them. everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
EXCELLENT! This was my first time making egg rolls. I used packaged coleslaw mix for the cabbage and carrots and a can of bean sprouts. It made 18 egg rolls, which a portion of them I froze. They were "Oh so good"! The egg rolls went perfectly with the Homemade Wonton Soup recipe from this site. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thank you ROUVER for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a great recipe! It is almost just like the recipe my mother has used for years. I left out the bean sprouts and added in sesame oil and oyster sauce. I used frozen shrimp instead of canned shrimp and I cooked the vegetables down before adding in my spices. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I love these egg rolls. I've made several variations from this recipe, from the shrimp it calls for to pork to chicken to just veggie rolls. This is my go-to recipe to start and build from every time. I highly recommend this recipe. My family loves them! And they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were good! Something tasted a little "off" to us in these rolls, I'm convinced it was the bean sprouts! We added chopped Bok Choy and mushrooms. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made these egg rolls with my daughter and we both thought they were fantastic. We live in England and decided to use what we call pak choi instead of ordinary cabbage, but that was the only thing we changed. If we were to change anything about the recipe, we would probably not put as much filling in each roll, but that's it. I will be be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bessiedarlin
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
These are super delicious! I have tried other egg roll recipes before; but this one takes the cake. I did bake them at a high heat (instead of deep frying them) and they still came out wonderful! Thanks for a good recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States