Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These egg rolls were fantastic and surprisingly easy to make! Used coleslaw mix with carrots. Brushed with olive oil and broiled on low until they were golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Perfect! I've been married for 11 years and this is the first egg roll recipe that he says is as good as the ones his mother used to make. Thanks ROUVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was a lot easier than I thought it would be. My husband LOVED, LOVED them and insisted this be a keeper. However, I thought it was too 'cabbagy' for me. I did use the fine shredder blade on my food processor and a whole cabbage head. Maybe it was too much cabbage since I really didn't measure it. Overall though, the flavors blended well. I'll try it again though. Only part of the mixture was used right away and I let the rest sit overnight in the frig. The leftover mixture was VERY, VERY watery. Needed to strain it. My uncle advised that's a characteristic of cabbage. It should be strained and squeezed to remove as much moisture as possible before adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
What a hit! I leave out the shrimp (vegetarian) and add tablespoon of Teriyaki sauce and a splash of sesame oil. I use the coleslaw mix that has carrots included and so omit the carrots and just use extra slaw mix. I leave out the bean sprouts and add more onion. I've added mushrooms before and a whole egg, rather than half. My opinion is that you can use any ingredients you want with this recipe and it won't fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverstone-Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Yummy!!!! Buy the coleslaw mix for quicker prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My first attempt at eggrolls - they weren't hard to make and were really good. I may experiment with some other flavors next time(ginger, etc.) but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was a wondeful guide for me in making Egg Rolls for my first time. Alas, I did not follow the recipe exactly. I made a few adjustments. -Instead of cutting cabbage and carrots, I used 1 and a half bags of coleslaw. This worked well, and cut my preperation time in half. -I did not use celery, but used scallions. -I used canned chicken instead of baby shrimp, and it turned out well. -And instead of soy sauce, I used Terryiakki Sauce which took care of the garlic, and gave it a ginger taste. So all in all, I basically created my own spin on this recipe...yet I used it as a guide. They turned out amazing, better than at a Chinese Take Out place! I recommend them to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
A big hit. The last time I made egg rolls it was so messy and complicated I didn't want to do it again. This recipe is awesome! I added a little more shrimp and instead of chopping a lot of cabbage and carrots I used a bag of the coleslaw mix minus the dressing in place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This recipe is good, but it lacks something. Next time I will add hoisin sauce to give it a bit of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Used canned chicken, because that's what we had on hand. Rolled and fried the first 3 rolls, tasted them and decided to add cayenne pepper for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States