Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were fantastic! I bought a bag of already shredded cabbage and put some shredded carrots in even though they are already in the cabbage mix. I had Phyllo dough on hand so I used that instead of the egg roll wrappers. If I used two pieces of phyllo, they stayed together and came out fantastic! I will definitely make this again...actually, New Year's! Thanks OH, and I baked mine at 375 for about 15-20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My boyfriend and I made these egg rolls and they definitely live up to their name. I was surprised at how easy it was to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KISSTHECOOKAGAIN
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I've never made egg rolls...in fact, I think this was my first time frying anything. They are so good. Just make sure you have mouths to eat them. It was just me and my husband and we overate...talk about a gut bomb. Maybe we aren't used to so much fried food. They are so good though. I served them with sweet and sour sauce and froze half the batch. I wish I'd tried brushing w/ olive oil and baking because that sounds like it might work out. These really are WAY better than any egg roll I've had a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECOOKAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I couldn't find my regular recipe, but these were a close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athomas21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eliza801
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
A keeper! I used pork instead of shrimp, and fried the egg rolls in a vegetable oil and peanut oil mixture. I omitted the fried egg portion of the recipe, which didn't seem to cause any harm. They turned out delicious - my whole family loved them! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliza801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I looked at many recipes before choosing this one, who in my opinion is one of the most accurate to the traditional egg rolls I've tried before. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefcorset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toluca, México, Mexico
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These egg rolls were fantastic and surprisingly easy to make! Used coleslaw mix with carrots. Brushed with olive oil and broiled on low until they were golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Perfect! I've been married for 11 years and this is the first egg roll recipe that he says is as good as the ones his mother used to make. Thanks ROUVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was a lot easier than I thought it would be. My husband LOVED, LOVED them and insisted this be a keeper. However, I thought it was too 'cabbagy' for me. I did use the fine shredder blade on my food processor and a whole cabbage head. Maybe it was too much cabbage since I really didn't measure it. Overall though, the flavors blended well. I'll try it again though. Only part of the mixture was used right away and I let the rest sit overnight in the frig. The leftover mixture was VERY, VERY watery. Needed to strain it. My uncle advised that's a characteristic of cabbage. It should be strained and squeezed to remove as much moisture as possible before adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
What a hit! I leave out the shrimp (vegetarian) and add tablespoon of Teriyaki sauce and a splash of sesame oil. I use the coleslaw mix that has carrots included and so omit the carrots and just use extra slaw mix. I leave out the bean sprouts and add more onion. I've added mushrooms before and a whole egg, rather than half. My opinion is that you can use any ingredients you want with this recipe and it won't fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverstone-Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States