Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
These are very good. I added a tbl of fresh ginger. I fried some and baked some at 400 for 30 minutes and I didn't like the baked ones at all. I had the wrappers sitting out while I prepared everything and some dried up. Next time I will keep in the refrigerator. If you have never made egg rolls, do yourself a favor and watch a few quick You Tube videos on wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I used the coleslaw (shredded cabbage/carrot )mixture in a bag to save time. Also diced some onion and added some cut up pregrilled chicken strips and a few sprinkles of Simply Asia Sweet Ginger Garlic seasoning. I don't use soy because of the high sodium so I always sub coconut aminos. These came out great-my husband was a huge fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I used a slaw mix with carrots so I didn't add more carrot. Omitted the onion and fried egg. I had cooked shrimp 60-70/# and used 15-17 minced for the canned shrimp. We got 15 egg rolls (to match the number of wrappers in the pkg.) Delicious! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This recipe was fantastic and super easy. I didn't use shrimp or bean sprouts though, and instead of shrimp I cooked some sausage. I also added about 1/8 t. ginger, used about 2X the amount of onion, and added a dash of Teriyaki sauce. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Very good! Made them tonight and no leftovers. They were very greasy, so I will probably try baking them next time, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Was good. I didn't follow the recipe as it was written. I used a bag of cole slaw mix & shredded some baby carrots I had on hand. Didn't use the sprouts or celery. Instead of shrimp I cooked some small pork chops on my George foreman, chopped them up & put those in the mixture. I didn't have fresh ginger but I did use some dry ginger- that added so much to the flavor. I modified the recipe to four servings for 3 people and after cooking 5 egg rolls I still have 5 left to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was a great recipe to build confidence to try making egg rolls for the first time. The whole family enjoyed them. We are going to try some variances for our own tastes but this was a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great just needed salt to be included. Will keep this one for the books. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
LAWRENCE FAV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
my sweet little moonkid wanted eggrolls and this was the recipe she picked. I helped along the way to show her how easy it was to put things together from start to finish. The recipe is very versatile. We normally don't carry can shrimp on hand (because of personal preferences) so used ground chicken and made sure IT was well seasoned and cooked prior to mixing all the ingredients together and we used 2 bags of cabbage/carrot mix to equal the amount of cabbage, carrot and celery written in this recipe. From start to finish rather easy. The wetness to the recipe was very good. As you do NOT want overly wet filling in an eggroll recipe, will make your wrappers extremely weak and will cause the wrappers tear and burst in the frying process. As someone that has made lumpia and eggrolls most of my life, this is a simple recipe for those beginners wanting to make them on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States