Awesome Easy Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
My family loved it! I modified it somewhat, though. I used half and half, but only 1 1/2 cups chicken broth, which kept it from getting so runny. Also, I cooked the sauce with some of the bacon grease and added 2 tbsp minced garlic and 1/4 tsp ground onion; it gave the sauce a great flavor! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
After reading the reviewers that had problems with thickening the sauce, I used the tip of creating a roux with 2 tbs each of butter and flour before adding the chicken broth and cream. I also used 1.5 cups of broth and 2 cups of half and half. I let it reduce for a good while - at least the 30 minutes that the recipe called for. It worked! The sauce was plenty thick. Next time, I would use more linguine or cut the sauce ingredients. It was a bit too saucy. I would also add more green vegetables like fresh green beans and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I agree with the previous reviewer - the sauce won't thicken the way it should. The flavor is really good, though, so I will make it again, with some changes. Before combining the cream and broth, I'm going to make a roux of butter and flour (2 tablespoons of each) by melting the butter, then adding the flour and stirring. Then I will add the broth and cream and proceed as directed. I will probably also add a couple more pieces of bacon. Other than that, this recipe is YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
We tried this recipe and were very impressed! I did make a couple changes....I added the cheese to the broth and cream when it reduced and it really helped thicken it. Also, I added a few cloves of minced garlic, didn't use bacon and substituted broccoli for the peas!! Yummo!!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Really good but due to the previous reviews of thin sauce I made adjustments but kept the ingredients the same. I rendered the bacon in a pan and set aside on towel, reserving a few (4-5) tablespoons of bacon grease whisked in 2 tablespoons flour and whisked for 30 seconds. Added 1 1/2 cup chicken broth and simmered for 2-3 minutes until thick, added 2 cups half and half and the chicken and simmered for 10 minutes and added the peas and the cheese, crumbled bacon, and salt, pepper and garlic powder. Very good, thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
good and easy meal. i, too, used half and half instead of heavy cream, and did a roux to start, even so the sauce was a little runny, but really it was fine once it's all together with the chicken, peas, and noodles. it makes a whole lot of sauce so i served the sauce and noodles separately, and have lots of sauce for another meal. will be great with shrimp too! much better than jarred alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I skipped the bacon and added garlic powder to my sauce, a dash of paprika, salt, pepper. I knew it wouldn't be as thick since I used half & half so I mixed some cornstarch with broth to thicken... Pretty easy and I only simmered my sauce about 30 min. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I started this recipe to a T and after an hour I still could not get the sauce to thicken so I ended up adding an extra cup of parm and it was the perfect consistency. It is a very tasty sauce and perfect with the bacon, chicken, and peas. I served over garlic chive pasta and DH just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Ok in my opinion. But daughter and husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayyadasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
As written - I thought it was a good, basic recipe. The simmered chic broth and cream left the sauce runny but verrrrry tasty~ PLUS ~ I love that anyone can expand on it. Will make again with additions which may include: rosemary or even basil in the simmering cream (depending on taste trying to achive), I could also see sauting the chicken with perhaps garlic and onions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States