Awesome Chicken and Yellow Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Our family really liked your dish! We took the advice of adding in the green chilies and diced tomatoes and nixing the pimentoes. And served black beans on the side. Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Goodson Hasskamp
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I added Chorizo, paprika, garlic, and cumin. I also used yellow squash in addition to the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was wonderful I made it excatly like the recipe called for except that I skinned the chicken to make it a healthier dish. I also used 1 can of Rotel tomatoes and chilies, drained...and the pimentos too!! It was fabulous. Thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Robson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this yesterday, and I was not impressed. I followed the recipe to a tee. However I did add rotel for some zip and I used a roasted chicken. If I make it again which I won't, I wouldn't put the Bell pepper in. It tasted bland except for the kick from the Rotel and strong taste of the bell pepper. It looked and sounded good...but I didn't like it. I used the Vigo rice and added chicken both to it....sorry, but it did nothing to me or my daughter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Even though I modified the recipe to suit my own taste, I still gave the recipe 5 stars because without this recipe and the advice of other reviewers I would not have came up with this idea. I omitted the onion, bell pepper, pimentos and chestnuts. I guess I started with a clean plate. I used two family sized bags of yellow rice. One large can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles and one tablespoon of cayenne pepper. I combined all ingredients, including chicken in a large dutch oven with 8 cups of water(for the uncooked rice)and baked at 375 degrees for about 30-45 minutes. Once done I mixed in a can of sweet peas. Even though I changed the recipe quite a bit, thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
tasty. added a can of lentils and a lot more peppers than called for. might try rotel next time. tastes like that might go well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Nice dish. Took the suggestion and used a can of mild Rotel with juices. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Tastes Great, I used a rotisserie chicken chopped the veggies cooked the rice combined all and seasoned to taste then put in the oven for 15 mins. wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diabetic_dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this reciped. It was the 1st time, I cooked with waterchestnuts. I took the advice on the site; used a precooked whole chicken, sauted the veggies with some garlic and added diced tomatoes. Superb! Also after it was baked, mixed in some pickled jalepenos for some added zing. Will definitely make again. Note, think the type of yellow rice you use makes a huge difference. The one we used was Goya Spanish style. It added some great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is delicious. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. The only thing I will probably change is to use chicken breasts since we prefer white meat. However, using the whole chicken is cheaper on the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States