Awesome Chicken and Yellow Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Made this last night and it was a keeper! I don't care for green bell pepper, so instead I added about 10 ounces of frozen peas, (which, I believe is authentic Cuban) at the end, as the mixture goes back into the oven for 15 minutes. I also cooked the yellow rice in 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 water. The crunch of the water chestnuts was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I noticed as I was going through the reviews before I made it that almost no one followed the exact recipe. I figured there was no point in making it if I changed everything, so I followed the recipe completely. I am so glad I did!! It was delicious!! It made enough for 2+ nights of dinner, and we enjoyed every bite of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good and simple. i added a chopped garlic clove to vegtables. Also added some english peas and chopped olives which gave beautiful color in the last 15 min. cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was extremely easy and as good as it was easy! My family is an old fashioned yellow rice & chicken bunch, so they all fussed when I served this one. HOWEVER, by the time the biscuits came out of the oven, it was almost all gone! We loved it and will certainly do it again! Thanks, Di.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was excellent. I didn't have pimentos or water chestnuts and added a can of Rotel as other reviewers suggested. I also used half a rotisserie chicken. It was excellent. Thanks so much.I also added about a tsp of red peppers that gave it a little heat, but not so much that anyone who wasn't overly sensitive to spice would notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Loved this! Left out the water chestnuts and pimentos, added 1 can rotel and fried up boneless chicken breasts with the green peppers and onions. Used 2 boxed zatarains yellow rice - easy and delish, just made on the stovetop! Have made it twice in two weeks now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was OK, but kind of on the bland side. I didn't like the green peppers in it. It overwhelmed the dish. Needs more seasoning, but I'm not sure what. Good place to start and make your own changes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Tried this recipe tonite. It was wonderful. This is a great base recipe for many different uses of seasonings and vegetables. To make it easier I did use a rotisserie chicken from Wal-mart. We like spice so I substituted hot rotel for the pimentos. I also added a little sharp shredded cheese on top. Instead of draining the liquid from the rotel I will use it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was very good. I don't have a dutch oven so I boiled the chicken with some left over vegetables I needed to use up. After the chicken cooked I let it cool and used the broth from the chicken to cook the yellow rice in. I put the chicken, rice, onions, and green pepper in a casserole dish and baked 15 minutes. ( My husband is picky and those are the only things he would let me put in). It turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
My family loved this! I took the advise of another reviewer and used a chicken that was already roasted to make it easy. My 16 yr old son absolutely loves this recipe. I have already made it twice and had to double the recipe to make sure there were leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States