Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Perfect for snow days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbest
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Incredibly good soup. I followed the recipe very closely. One tip - I went to Natural Grocers for lemongrass, and they only had dried lemongrass (bulk foods). My colander wasn't fine enough to strain out the lemongrass, and the texture IS like eating dried grass. The taste is worth it to make sure to include, but I was spooning out pieces of lemongrass because it was like eating pieces of straw. Make sure to use a fine strainer if you can. The recipe was very time consuming (I did a double batch), but the results were worth it. I put the noodles into the broth and they did use up a lot of the broth, so I added some chicken broth toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I make mine the way mkoseen does to speed up the process... I also sauté my onion w garlic before I put it in, skip the lemon grass, and add hot pepper seeds. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
A home run! Everyone loved it and it was worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
In an update from my earlier (5 star) review I'd just like to add that though I'm not overly frugal it kills me to throw out all the vegetables from the first batch. So I save them and purée them for another soup base. Today I cooked barley in vegetable stock with sliced mushrooms and pureed the veggies with a bit more stock. If it's too bland just add bouillon granules, curry powder or paste, or whatever other taste you're looking for. It's not as awesome as the chicken soup but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Church Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
the reason i give it 4 stars and not 5 is because overall it was good but the 2 things was in the recipe they couldve just said bye swanson brith but instead they tell u 2 make the broth and also i strongly reccomend u dont use the 10 peppercorns because my fam was choking on it take it as a lesson i made that mistake jus use regular pepper but other than that i liked it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
What makes this soup is starting with a whole chicken and creating its own broth. I love this recipe. I think if you want a low fat/calorie version use a different recipe. This is my old chicken soup recipe that helps you feel better in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent flavor, instructions aren't very clear but basically a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Moody, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Better than canned soup but time consuming to make. If you made it often enough it would probably become easy to throw together. Like others I cooked the noodles seperately and added just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States