Awesome Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
It is difficult to rate the recipe as it stands as after reading all of the reviews I didn't make these muffins as the recipe suggests. I did soak the raisins and I'm glad I did. I used 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup of whole wheat flour to sneak some fiber into the kids diet. To compensate for the nutty flavour of the whole wheat flour, I increased the cinnamon to 1 1/2 teaspoons. A number of people stated that the muffins were too salty and too oily. Keeping this in mind I referred to my favourite banana muffin recipe which is also based on two cups of flour. It used only 1/3 cup of fat so I reduced the oil to one third cup and added 2/3 cup of thick homemade (unsweetened) pear sauce. To fix the "too salty" I reduced the baking powder to 1 1/2 teaspoons and the baking soda to 1 teaspoon and the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. The muffins still were nice and high. In place of 4 eggs I used 2 eggs plus 4 egg whites. With these changes I made 36 mini muffins which I quite liked. They are a little shy on their own but as part of breakfast with fruit yogurt the sugar was not missed by the kids. Next time I'll sprinkle the tops with brown sugar and cinnamon before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I've made this recipe twice. The first time I thought I made a mistake. The second time I realized it was the recipe. Too much salt, oil and baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I made the recipie with 3/4C applesauce and 1/4C oil - texture was great, taste was great - no oiliness problem like the one gal said and calories went WAY DOWN. I can get"juice" carrots fairly cheaply and use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I hate to be soooo critical but this is the worst recipe I have ever tried. All you can taste is vegetable oil!! The oil taste way overpowers the 3 cups of carrots and what little spice is added. Very bland. We won't be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My daughter and me made these yesterday and they are amazing. Very moist and full of flavor. We did change the amount of oil, by replacing 3/4 cups of apple sauce 1/4 cup oil and they turned out really well, while taking out a lot of that oil that was requested. I also put in 2 table spoons of ground flax seeds for more nutrition. I will be making these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Loved these! So easy to make! Although, I did make a lot of subs (applesauce for oil, less baking soda/powder, whole wheat flour, NO salt) and added more carrots, grated in an apple for extra flavour and added some Benefibre for the extra fibre. Came out awesome and full of flavour. Will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
After reading the reviews I made a few changes. I lowered the oil to 2/3 a cup, since a few people felt they were greasy. They were fine with that amount- still moist, but not greasy. I also read that they were salty- so, I decreased the salt and baking soda a little bit. I didnt do an exact measure, just used about 1/3 less on both of them. I also added about 1/4 cup of white sugar, because of the reviews that said they werent sweet enough. I did not use frosting on them, as I didnt want cupcakes I wanted muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I have made this recipe twice now, once with raisins and once without. I also replaced about 3/4 of the oil with applesauce and did not frost them in anyway. My toddler gobbles these up. I agree with another reviewer that they are better the next day. We put them in the freezer and defrost them one at a time for a healthy snack. They are not the *best* muffins I have ever had - but considering how much my 2 1/2 year old loves them and how healthy they are, I will continue to make them. Next time, I will try replacing 1/2 the flour with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
My 5 yr old loves these. She had one for breakfast this morning. I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup oil and also used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I froze half of the batch for later consumption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Overall, a good muffin. I did take everyone's advice, and reduced the salt and baking powder. I also substituted 1/2 the oil for milk. I increased the cinnamon, and added nutmeg, but it could still use some more spice (imho).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States