Awesome Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Awesome recipe! Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I have made these muffins over and over again. Best carrot muffins ever! I have made these as the recipe reads but I have also tried them as VEGAN muffins. I subtituted the 4 eggs for 4 TBSP of flax seed oil and 12 TBSP of water and voila! They taste amazing this way too. The flax gived them a nutty flavor. Super Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I loved playing with this recipe I had about a cup of sweet potato casserole in fridge so I did the following 1cup all purpose flour, 1 cup graham flour, 1/2 cup, veg oil,1/2 cup applesauce, 1 1/2 cups shredded carrots, 1 cup sweet potato casseroles everything else same I topped them with cream cheese frosting with a splash of cinnamon extracts yummy better the next day with cup of coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mechelle Banville

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lucedale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Have a very small oven so halved the recipe. Added a bit of nutmeg. Used whole wheat flour, sunflower oil and dried cranberries as they were what was at hand. The batter worried me, the oil gave it an unfamiliar texture, but the end result was delicious. No frosting. I'd prefer not to use so much oil so I will definitely try it with applesauce in place of some of the oil as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These were good, but not great. After reading everyone else's reviews, I made a few changes and I cut the recipe in half so I didn't have a bunch of muffins nobody was going to eat, just in case they weren't good. I used 1/2 of baking soda called for, and I sub. all the oil for unsweetened applesauce. I also used golden raisins instead of regular (it was all i had on hand). The only issue I really had was half the muffin stuck to the muffin paper. Overall, I would probably make them again, tweaking the ingredients one more time. I give it a 3 b/c the taste was good, but I also tweaked the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coler624

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iron_Lady12
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great recipe!! I made a few moderations that I think gives these muffins a better kick! So instead of just raisins, I used half raisins & half currants. I used 1/2 white & 1/2 whole wheat flour. I know from experience using all whole wheat when baking anything makes it denser & heavier. I cut out the baking soda because it adds to the heaviness and dryness and I wanted a moist muffin, so only baking powder was used. Also to add that extra spice kick, along w/cinnamon i used fresh ground nutmeg AND anise! Fresh ground anise is an unbelievable sweet & perky spice w/ an incredible aroma. Also in the egg mixture, I put 1tsp vanilla essence & 1tsp almond essence. These essences combined create a coconut-like flavor. And instead of veg oil, I used softened (not melted) butter...sorry health buffs (lol). Flour mixture contained the baking powder, sugar, salt & fresh ground spices mixed evenly. The egg mixture has the vanilla & almond essence...NOT the sugar like in this original recipe. I take the soft butter and rub it thru the flour mixture w/ my finger tips until the mixture looks like fine breadcrumbs. Then I stir in the carrots & raisins/currants evenly. Last I add the egg mixture & stir thru slowly. For a little more moisture I added a couple tsps of Carnation milk. Bake as suggested. Serve with a hot cup of brewed Mexican Chiapas Coffee (a medium roast w/cocoa & hazelnut notes..YUM). The muffin tastes like it has Thanksgiving baked into it!! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iron_Lady12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I use freshly ground wheat and instead of sugar Aguave-Sirup, and just 1/2 cup of oil. After a day they are perfect. Everytime we are in for afternoon-snachk in preschool I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I've made these atleast 10 times. I omit all oil and replace it with unsweetened applesauce. I buy matchstick carrots and blend them in a blender with the applesauce. I probably use 3/4c of applesauce and 3c carrots. I use 2c whole wheat flour, 1/2c brown sugar, 1/2c white sugar and 2 tbs cinnamon, I've added almond extract as well. I use the suggest amount of baking soda and powder and eggs and these turn out great! A healthy snack for my 3yr and she loves them so I guess that's all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I'm rating this recipe as is. NOT GOOD. Too greasy, too much egg. I think the main reason people gave this a high rating is because of all the changes the reviewers made. OK people, don't rate a recipe high if you're making so many changes, it throws off the reviews and doesn't give a true rating for the recipe given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This reciepe s great.I made it several times already for different friends,and everybody like this.even the kids that I babysit. I follow some tips of the readers,that put apple sauce instead of oil and it when so good.I will make this as much as possible all the time for a healty snack!Thanks for sharing this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reyz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States