Awesome Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These taste salty. You can't tell there is any sugar in them at all. I would recommend doubling (maybe even tripling) the sugar. Also, I didn't have any oil so I used warm water. They were light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachmeyoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larkspur, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I didn't read the reviews before baking these, following the assumption that the overall rating was actually related to the original recipe. Like others, I first thought I'd made a mistake since the muffins tasted salty, oily and like baking soda. Then I read the reviews and see that everyone made some adjustments. I understand that the ratings most people give reflect the outcomes of the adjustments they made, but this system confuses people like me! I will from now on never trust the overall rating and always read the comments first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I adjusted this recipe to make it a little healthier and to also use what I had on hand as our budget's quite tight. To add more flavor and spice, I soaked the raisins in unsweetened chai tea. I used whole wheat white flour, cut the baking powder and baking soda back to a teaspoon each, cut the salt back to a 1/4 teaspoon and to cut back on the fat and because I'm low on eggs, I used only two eggs then added in 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt, 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 3/4 cup homemade organic applesauce (what I did was figure that an egg is about 1/4 cup of liquid so when I subtracted two eggs, there was a half cup of liquid I needed to re-add). The applesauce and raisins add plenty of sweetness on it's own so I was able to get away with 1/3 of a cup of sugar. I started with one cup of carrot that I diced fine in my mini processor and really, that was plenty. I'm really trying to stretch what I had so I didn't want to use all I had in one muffin recipe. The outcome was really great. Moist muffin that had enough flavor and sweetness and you really don't miss the extra eggs, sugar or fat. This will make a nice breakfast/snack for us tomorrow. NOTE: Next time, I'd cut this back. One full recipe gave me 12 regular sized muffins and 18 mini-muffins. We'll eat them all gladly--it's just quite a gamble when you haven't tried the recipe first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
awesome indeed. i subbed 3/4 applesauce for the oil like the other readers and didn't use raisins and these came out pretty good. next time i might run the batter through the hand blender to incorporate the shredded carrots better, but awesome as is. my 1-year-old liked a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
way too much salt and soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made the recipe as is and will use it again, but like the other commenters, I will replace much of the oil with applesauce. I also added dill and added more carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These are not the best muffins if you follow the recipe. I substituted flax for eggs (4 eggs are a lot), used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose, reduced the oil to 1/2 cup (which is still more than I wanted) and used 1 cup of the water from the raisins. I didn't have applesauce on hand. I was also heavy handed with the cinnamon. Made a good muffin, but I will probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyannis, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These are great muffins. I did not alter anything except that I used all whole wheat flour. (I do this all the time, so my kids are used to a heavier and healthier muffin.) I think some of the reviews are pretty critical. They didn't taste too salty or too oily to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were okay. The texture was good. But it needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I really liked the texture of these muffins, but they were too salty. I did not read the other reviews first, but I wish I had. I teach Culinary Arts and was trying to let my students use up some extra carrots and have a healthy snack, but this recipe missed the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBrock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States