Awesome Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Too salty and too oily, for sure. I used this as a base recipe for ginger mango muffins, using chopped candied ginger for the raisins and 2 cups of diced mango for the carrots. Subbed 1/4 cup of Thai chili-infused sesame oil for 1/4 cup of the vegetable oil, added 1 teaspoon ground cayenne. Next time I will probably cut down to a pinch of salt, reduce the oil majorly, and do a brown sugar crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I took the advice from previous comments. Used only 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce. I only used a dash of salt. cut the baking poder down to 1 1/2 tsp and the soda to 1 teaspoon. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. Next time I think I will add shredded apples also. I topped witih a sprinkle of brownsugar and cinnamon before baking also. Super good! My two year old ate them up and even my husband, who hates carrots, gobbled them down. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This recipe is WONDERFUL! I made it with fresh carrots from my garden! They turned out amazing! The kids love them! Wonderful! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
It is funny, I never usually follow recipes...I just use them as a guide. So...for this one, I put yogurt in substitue for most of the oil, I used less sugar, and I used whole wheat flour instead. They turned out great and not too oily. But, I would never have used all that oil! yogurt or applesauce works as a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe is obviously missing something.... No flavour at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I should have read the other reviews before making these. Incredibly oily, all you can taste is vegetable oil. The recipe has potential though, I'm going to try again with applesauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Great place to start, but like many I made changes - still wasn't all that satisfied. Instead of the oil, I used applesauce (which I do with all my baking). The taste that was strongest to me was the baking soda so I'll have to decrease that next time. So the muffins weren't a waste, I just smeared some honey and almond cream cheese on top and YUM! I also substituted some carrots with shredded zucchini, added 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I also substituted the oil with apple sauce and added walnuts and all spice to this recipe, I ended up baking them for 35mins and they still were not fully cooked.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These taste salty. You can't tell there is any sugar in them at all. I would recommend doubling (maybe even tripling) the sugar. Also, I didn't have any oil so I used warm water. They were light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachmeyoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larkspur, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I didn't read the reviews before baking these, following the assumption that the overall rating was actually related to the original recipe. Like others, I first thought I'd made a mistake since the muffins tasted salty, oily and like baking soda. Then I read the reviews and see that everyone made some adjustments. I understand that the ratings most people give reflect the outcomes of the adjustments they made, but this system confuses people like me! I will from now on never trust the overall rating and always read the comments first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States