Awesome Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The muffins came out too oily and salty. Mine were so bad that I couldn't even eat them. If you're going to try this recipe I suggest eliminating most of the baking soda/salt and greatly reducing the oil, or substituting it for applesauce like some others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin Coral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was my base recipe and I tweaked it to incorporate stuff we had and replace what we didn't. I also cut the serving size from 18 muffins to 12. Changes: We didn't have raisins. I used a 1/2 cup of shredded coconut. Instead of vegetable oil, I used 1/3 cup melted coconut oil, 1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce. Much healthier and less calories! 2 shredded carrots was plenty! I think it yielded a cup and a half. For the glaze, I used a cup of confectioners sugar, a tbsp cinnamon, and 2 tbsp coconut milk. Just whisk together and pour on the muffins when you pull them out of the oven. I used dark brown sugar in mine which is probably why the muffins are so dark. When I mixed the wet and dry ingredients, the batter looked kind of dry, so I added coconut milk until it looked moist enough and I knew I wouldn't be pulling bricks out of the oven (made that mistake of baking too dry batter before!!). If you've made muffins before, you know the consistency to go for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I forgot to read the reviews first! I made the muffins step by step but they taste so salty! It was a fail for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Make this recipe every other week for my boys. They love them. The only change I made was replacing the baking soda with more baking powder. I personally don't like the taste of baking soda. Other then that the recipe is great. I make them in a mini muffin pan so my one year old can hold them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Way to mush baking soda in these. Almost indelibly so. May try again and halve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The over riding taste of baking powder and baking soda was horrid. Will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
too much OIL , my muffians got burned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is a good muffin. I've made them twice now -- the first time exactly as the recipe read, the second time with modifications. They were still good the first time, though a bit oily and not sweet enough for me. The second time I substituted half the oil with applesauce, added 2 TBSP of ground flax seeds, some vanilla and lemon flavorings, maybe a quarter cup more raisins, and a quarter cup more brown sugar. Quick and easy to make, great out the door muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I normally would pass on any recipe using a whole cup of oil (we aren't exactly frying the muffins!), but I read a few reviews first and found that it could easily be reduced to 1/3 cup. So I did that, and also pureed a pear with a tablespoon of milk to throw in as well. I omitted the raisins, as I had none on hand, and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Baked on the top rack, 350 for 30 minutes and they came out absolutely PERFECT. Moist, soft, and really delicious. My 5 year old and 2 year old just had one each for breakfast; I love yummy kid-friendly recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I found them not very flavorful. Forgot to read the comments with the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States