Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I have to agree with the previous comments. The cake is way too sweet and oily. Also so much salt is not necessary. You have to bake the cake def. more than 40 minutes! A oil base doug/pastry should be bake by 320 F for about 60-75minutes! But I like the idea with the pineapple. Very nice! Just take only 1 cup of suger, only 1 cup of oil, only a pinch of salt and the cake it perfect! I love to ad walnuts or replace it with pumpkin/almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I substitute 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce for 1 cup of the oil called for in the recipe. It gives the cake a lighter (yet still delicious) taste and cuts a lot of fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Everyone loved this cake. It was a little greasy though...next time, I'll cut back in the amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I did not change any of the ingredients and I followed the instructions to the 'T'. The cake was a little oily (left slick spots on my plate). My guests liked it, though. The frosting came out really thin. Not sure what happened there. It did taste good, but next time I'll reduce the oil by at least 1/2c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Way too much oil, way too "moist," it was more like an oily bread pudding with carrots in it! This was my first recipe at allrecipes.com and it may be my last....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I've been using this recipe for years and everytime I make it someone wants the recipe. Dense and delicious. I do, however, use my own cream cheese frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
THE best carrot cake ive ever had, not sure why people are saying they didnt like it, im making it a 4th time and this time im adding raisins, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was amazing! Very moist and tasted wonderful. Advice.. Takes a little longer to bake (I had it in for 50 min) and the frosting was a little to sweet so cut back on the sugar.. All in all it is defiantly going to be done again! Thank you for it! My mother loves carrot cake and after this, I think I am to now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Moist and delicious. Had to cook it longer than 40 minutes and the top browned quite a bit, but the cake was still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Amazzzzzzing! I tweaked the recipe slightly, more applesauce, less oil...added misc ingredients. Bought this to a friend's family party, and everyone wanted the recipe! So moist and delicious, respect comes from me...and the likes of our bellies :) If you reserve a little of the frosting, you can dye & refridgerate it and make great carrot designs on your cake! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deana Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States