Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This cake is excellent as written. IF you have real health-foodies, it tastes almost as good with 1/2 the sugar and raisins added. But: try it as written first: 5 people devoured the whole cake in half an hour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I did as the recipe called for and added 1 1/2 cups of vegetable oil (which seemed like a lot, but i have never had any trouble with recipes on here before and everyone rated it well. It was in the oven for 45 minutes and still wasn't done because it was so oily. the rest of it seemed fine and the take was ok if you ignored the oil. I call a rematch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
On the rich side and the coconut is pretty strong. (For those who aren't crazy about coconut, I'd just leave it out.) But the cake is moist and very delicious and worth the nuisance of grating the carrot! I iced with lite creamcheese, butter and about 1-1/2 cups confectioner's sugar. Be sure to have a glass of milk or vanilla ice cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Great recipe. I only used 3/4 cups of vegetable oil and it still came out very moist. If I would have used the full 1 1/2 cups I think the cake would have come out very oily. For the frosting I just used 8 oz cream cheese, half a stick of unsalted butter and 2 cups of powdered sugar. It was the perfect amount to frost the 9 x 13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This is the best carrot cake recipe! I do not always have pecans on hand so I substitute with walnuts - they work fantasticly!I have been making this recipe for years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! I found that the bake time needed to be a bit longer but I sell cakes part time from my home and I was told this was the best carrot cake my last customer had ever had!! Two thumbs way up. VERY MOIST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
LOVE this recipe! There are definitely no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I think all these oily cake complaints might come from scaling the cake down. I cut the recipe in half before and it comes out super oily. If I bake at the default quantity it comes out perfect. I'm not surprised though banking gets wonky like that when you tinker with it. The baking time... I think is a little low but better a little low than too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Most delicious cake EVER! Thank you so much for sharing this. Our family has a new favorite. We halved it because I knew we'd have a lot of Easter candy around our house as well. Boy, I wish I had made the full recipe! It was SO good. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAFTYLILDEVIL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The best carrot cake! My husband is a carrot cake lover and he is so picky when it comes to carrot cake and he just loved this one. The frosting is what really does it. I left out the nuts since my son is allergic to them and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States