Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I should have read more of the reviews before trying this carrot cake recipe. The cake comes out WAY too oily!! If i made it again I'd reduce the amount of oil used (maybe 3/4 cup) and substitute something like apple sauce to maintain the moisture. Moist is great, but there are better ways to achieve a moist cake without resorting to so much oil. Also I'd increase the amount of sugar in the cake batter (the cake comes out barely sweet), maybe use 2 cups rather than a cup and a half. I'm not one for really sugary cakes, but this one needs a bit more sugar. If you had to make major adjustments to the recipe, how can you rate it five stars? Please rate the recipe as it appears, not how it turned out when you recreated the recipe to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I thought this was easy to understand and I enjoyed spendiing the time with my granddaughters creating this delicious desert. Santa won't be getting cookies this year. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stearns, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I reduced the oil in the cake from 1 and 1/2 cup to 1 cup, the cake came out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda Vandervort
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I found this recipe years ago, and have been making it ever since! I make this cake every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and my family LOVES it. I did change a few things: 1. I beat the eggs seperately, then gradually add the oil....whisking until light in color. Then I add the pinapple, carrots, and nuts, and mix. I mix the flour, sugar, and spices together in a seperate bowl, and gradually add to the wet mixture. I find this makes for a lighter, fluffier cake. 2. For the icing, I use 1 stick unsalted butter, and 1/2 "brick" of cream cheese. Makes for a lighter, creamier icing. Also, because of the pineapple, this cake MUST be kept refrigerated...the moisture from the pineapple will make it go bad quickly if not kept at a cool temperture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Vandervort

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My boyfriend had been begging me for weeks to make him a carrot cake w/cream cheese icing from scratch. Mind you, I cook a lot of dinners, but have never been much of a bake from scratch kind of gal. But then I found this recipe and thought it looked easy enough so I decided to give it a shot. Even my bf wasn't excepting it to be perfect the first time, he just wanted me to try, BUT it came out SO freaking good. He was in love, the kids were in love, and I myself was in love with this cake. I know a lot of the other reviewers thought it was TOO oily and moist, but we thought it was just right. Maybe it's just a matter of preference, maybe I just got lucky, but , that was some good cake! I'm making another one to bring to a party tonight, we'll see if it's as big of a hit for my friends as it was for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I have made this several time and everyone loves it, even people who don't like carrot! I do use only 1/2 the amount of oil, stir delicious! I serve it cold for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this last night and it was the best carrot cake I have ever tasted. I followed the recipe as it was written and tweaked it a little bit, I added raisens. It was a hit on our home and I will keep this one as my favorite. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is the best carrot cake I've ever made. Lots of compliments always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEEYEDBOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
very good, but add some spices to the frosting to make it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States