Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Yes, this is best recipe yet. My granny made this every holiday. I have not made this since she passed away. But I think it's time. Kids that don't like pineapple or carrots or cream cheese will love this cake. They have no idea what's in it. You do not need to change this recipe, it is excellent as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Best carrot cake ever! I have made it dozens of times and it is requested often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanbornville, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TunaSock
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
When I made this swapped 1 cup of white sugar for brown sugar, added 1 tsp of fresh ground nutmeg, 2 Tbsp cinnamon and 1/2 cup of golden raisins. The oil could really be cut back of this cake but that just to my tastes. Also used cream cheese frosting with candy pecans and candy bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I actually made this for my brother's birthday and he is a big carrot cake fan, he loved it, everyone loved it and they couldn't believe it had cream cheese. The only changed I was forced to make was less carrots (2 cups)and less oil (1 cup), only because I ran out and I didn't have pecans so instead I added almonds. Also I didn't add the nuts to the frosting I just threw all the nut of the top of the cake, to make it look nicer-ish. The ONLY PROBLEM I had was the frosting was very creamy and wouldn't stay put so I frosted it three separate times and I had it in the refrigerator for at least 3 hrs-ish so I guess just add more powered sugar to the frosting or refrigerate for a least 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Barajas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Traveling and didn't have my "Tried and True" carrot cake recipe, so after reading SEVERAL recipes on this site and others, I opted for this recipe ! It is AMAZING! I did cut the oil to 1 cup since I remembered the amount from my recipe. I think I have a NEW tried and true! Great recipe, those that didn't like it - don't know what to tell you. Give it another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I am about to make this cake and after reading a dozen or so recipes this is the closest to my mother in-laws that I unfortunately misplaced. I cannot believe all the revising of ingredients and expectations of it tasting as the recipe was written! If you want to write your own recipes DO IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I'm not usually a big fan of sweets, but I have a weakness for carrot cake. My old boss used to make a super moist carrot cake that used pineapples and I've been looking for a recipe that used it ever since. I followed the video recipe version since it used 1/2 the amount of oil than the written recipe. But also made a few small changes.. I increased the amount of carrots to 4 cups, added around 3/4 cup of raisins and decreased the sugar to just a little over 1 cup so it's not too sweet. I baked it for 40min and it turned out amazing! Super moist, not overly sweet, and definitely not greasy at all. Next time, I'm going to check it at the 30-35min mark and see if it's even more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is our go-to recipe for Carrot Cake every time - exactly as written! Love it and have had to give the recipe out many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
We changed the recipe slightly like the other reviews said, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I use large carrots and grate them finely. Also, I cut the oil down to 1 cup, and they cake is still good but much less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States