Awesome Buttertarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by 2ys4you
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These butter tarts were outstanding! I used some pre-made pie crust and molded it into muffin tins. I replaced the pecans with chopped toasted coconut chips and I doubled the raisins. The recipe made 24 mini tart-lettes and 8 bigger ones, with the tiniest bit of leftover 'batter'. I was a little concerned that the bigger tarts weren't cooked enough, so next time I would cook them at 350 for about 25 minutes. Even after sitting for 24hrs, the bigger tarts are quite runny when you bite into them. Of course, some people might say that adds to their appeal! Overall, a great recipe! I might add a few mini chocolate chips to the next batch! Update: I made a second (1/2) batch of these, adding a few chocolate chips, and using Tenderflake tart shells. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes. They could have used 2 extra minutes, but I kinda love the gooey middle :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Haven't eaten them yet. I don't know how they are supposed to cook in 16 minutes. I had to put them back in. I think 400F for 20 minutes would be better. Also I had to increase the amount of raisins by half to get enough and then there was too much filling. This recipe needs some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacey
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great recipe. I never changed a thing. My family loved them. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Finally I found a recipe that is similar to my mom's and not icky corn syrup in the ingredients. A trick I learned over the years is not to mix the raisins & walnuts into the filling but to put a rounded tsp of raisins and 1/2 tsp of chopped walnuts directly into the tart shells. Then I pour in the filling. That way each tart has the same amount of fruit/nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Oh...my....goodness!! Best buttertarts ever! I used 1/2 cup chopped pecans and 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and they tasted just like the chocolate Turtles you buy at Christmas! Wow! Thanks for my new favorite buttertart recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harriman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Just made these today and they are fabulous! I didn't have pecans, so used some chopped up hazelnuts that I had around. I also added a bit more raisins (about 1/4 cup). They are VERY tasty and I'm super happy with them :D I'll definitely be making more before Christmas :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Stead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
These are the best and easiest buttertarts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I have used this recipe for several years and have recommended it to several people. I am surprised there are not more ratings. I have cooked for 40 years (+) and have found this recipe to be the best yet. Uumummm delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
These taste so good and are so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Great tarts I doubled the raisins and nuts.Nothing but praise for them. Even my 95 year old mother wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States