Awesome Broccoli Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Ok... this is my new favorite sauce! I didn't have tomato sauce with the balsalmic vinegar and basil (didn't know they made such a thing) so I just added fresh basil and some balsalmic vinegar to the olive oil. I also added mushrooms to the mixture when I added the broccoli. I served this over cheese tortellini. It's just like a dish my husband orders at a nearby restaurant. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I double the diced tomatoes and added parmesan on top for a real marianra flare. Very good side dish for any Italian entree. Contadina sells diced tomatoes with Italian herbs that works very well in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
What a nice change from boring old steamed broccoli! I could not find the same kind of tomatoes, but used a canned variety with basil, garlic and oregano. Very good. Everyone like it except my son, who hates everything to do with broccoli :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
My family really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Loved this recipe but am gonna add some red onion to it next time like some reviewers suggested. I served this over some angel hair pasta and it tasted wonderful together. I was gonna sprinkle some parmesan cheese over it but forgot, so next time I'll put some on. I must say that this dish felt rather healthy and light to eat and I enjoyed that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
easy to make, has a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I added a little bacon with the garlic at the start. I used diced tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano & added a splash (tbs) of balsamic vinegar. It smelled great at this point. I reduced the tomatoes and put the broccoili on top. I had to use a stock pot to hold the broccoli, I doubled the recipe to take to my sisters. By the time the broccoli on top starting turning bright green the bottom broccoli had turned brown (not burnt). When I got to my sisters, 30 minutes later, all of it was brown. So - I would definitely not recommend this for a traveling dish. If my husband hadn't turned his nose up at the tomato/broccoli combo I might make again, just not as a pot luck dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castroville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was a good side dish to accompany my macaroni pasta bake. I forgot to add the balsamic vinegar, but the recipe had a good flavor regardless. Added mozzarella cheese on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Pretty good way to jazz up broccoli! I added my own spices and herbs to diced canned tomatos. I think melted mozzarella is a must when serving this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I'm sorry but all I could taste was tomato in this recipe. I love broccoli, but I felt like I was eating just canned tomatoes. I guess it would be a good recipe for someone trying to hide the broccoli taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States