Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I have been making this recipe for years but I do it a little differently - and ALWAYS get requests... 2 eggs beaten, 1 cup melted margarine, 1 cup HELLMAN's (not miracle whip) mayonnaise, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 1/2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese, 2 Tbsp chopped onion, 2 pkgs. frozen chopped broccoli, 1 small bag pepperidge farm stuffing mix. Cook & drain broccoli, mix everything else together (except stuffing mix), pour into greased casserole and top w/stuffing mix. Bake 350 for one hour. It is very important that you use real, full-fat ingredients such as mayonnaise and margarine. Otherwise it doesn't come out right. Also best when cools for at least 30 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This recipe deserves an update. I am making this dish once again for Christmas because it is the most requested recipe that I own. It is the best broccoli recipe I have found so far. I add a butter and club cracker crumb mixture on the top before I bake it. It is scrumptous. I highly recommend that you try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Although I made adjustments, this was an absolutely fabulous meal! We all loved it, really!! I don't know why anyone would give it bad ratings unless they didn't like broccoli or cheese :) I took some of the other reviewer's advice, and instead of 1 c mayo, I did 1/2 c mayo and 1/2 sour cream. I also added 1/2 c more shredded cheese. The funny part was I discovered I only had a 16 oz pkg of broccoli florets (calls for 30 oz cut); so I used that along with another package of frozen veggie mix - of broccoli, pearl onions, and peppers; not realizing that this package added an awesome kick to the meal! I really lucked out. Anyway, like another person, I mixed the concoction together w/the cheese, then at the end mixed it with the veggies. I sprinkled a little shredded cheddar on top, then added mozarella slices - which again, out of sheer luck worked out perfectly!! My family really loved this meal. It's a KEEPER! Thanks for contributing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a recipe that is a family staple for all of our holidays. I misplaced my recipe and was thankful to find it here. However, the preparation for our recipe is different, and it does make a difference in the finished dish. Some of the ingredients are a tad different as well. First, we blanch and drain the broccoli. I think leaving out this step is why some of your dishes are coming out runny, it also makes the color appearance much better. Also, we use slightly less mayo, about 3/4 cup, more cheese (12 oz or 3 cups) and no salt or pepper. There is enough salt already in the soup. Also, we mix the broccoli into the soup mixture. Bake 45 minutes, and then top with finely smashed cheese crackers and return to oven for another 15 minutes or until cheese cracker crust is brown. It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKHDTDEVO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is the best broccoli cheese casserole I have ever tasted. My husbands family is big on broccoli cheese casserole, but this beat their usual great tasting casserole. It was a hit at Christmas. I used the suggestion of 1/2 c. mayo and 1/2 c. sour cream and extra cheese. I also omitted the added salt and pepper and it was great! The condensed soups and cheese have a salty enough flavor that no extra was needed.Thanks for this recipe, I will pass it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
With a few changes this could be a great recipe! Next time I will do 1/2 cup mayo, and a 1/2 cup sour cream and add 1/2 cup more cheese. Definitely a great "starter" recipe to make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This recipe was definitely good just the way it is written. My whole family loves it. It may not be gourmet, but it's delicious. Why does everyone rate it when they're changing so many things in it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Wow - All I have to say is YUM! I actually used this recipe last year for my office Thanksgiving party but I forgot to rate it. This year my office automatically signed me up to make it again! LOL! Everyone loved it, I made enough for 25 people and every bit of it was eaten! This recipe is one of the best, no-fail, wonderful recipes ever. It's delicious, easy and quick to throw together at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
STACY! What a WINNER! This is just WONDERFUL! I added 1 teaspoon garlic salt and pepper to the soup/mayo mixture before adding the broccoli. Every1 said this is a HANDS-DOWN keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
this dish just didn't have a good flavor. and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States