Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I have made this broccoli casserole since 1976 when it was given to me by a co-worker; however, mine has crushed Cheez-its on top (and only Cheez-its) on top. I make this recipe every Thanksgiving and Christmas as my family demand it. I always use the extra sharp Cheddar as it enhances the flavor. Best broccoli casserole ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
NOT awesome - VERY bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I know why it's called Awesome!! My husband and 2 yr old twins really love it!!! Per other reviews, I changed it to 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of just 1 cup mayo. My husband, who hates mayo, has no idea it's in there!! I also added more cheese!! It is delicious! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Can't go too wrong with cheese and broccoli! But my boyfriend didn't like the taste added by the cream of mushroom soup. It was too overpowering for the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe!! Over time, I've made a few alterations, though. I add a little more cheese than called for and I only use the florets and my secret ingredient... I add a few durkee fried onions into the mix and added some to the cracker topping, instead of regular chopped onion! Delicious and e'one loves and requests it!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christy1611

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I made half a batch of this for the four of us. I used half of a half batch of a condensed soup mix that I made from scratch instead of canned soup and half lowfat mayo/half FF sour cream. (I made a cauliflower bake the other night that used a whole cup of mayonnaise and it was just too much.) I also used fresh broccoli. For the cheese, I used Cracker Barrel's 2% sharp white cheddar to cut down on the fat a bit but not on the flavor. We all thought this was pretty tasty but a little heavy on the mayonnaise. I'd like to make this again with maybe even less mayo and maybe some FF plain yogurt. You could tell I didn't use a canned soup but it was a good surprize, coming from an old Campbell's worshiper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Awesome is right! I tweaked it the way many others have. I used cream of chicken soup. 1/2 c sour cream and 1/2 c mayo. I used powdered onions so the kids wouldn't know it was in there. I used 12 oz of sharp cheddar and twice as much fresh broccoli which i par boiled. I also topped it with ritz crackers pulverized and mised with melted butter. I omitted the salt and never missed it. My daughters (age 11 and 8) both told me to never again buy the frozen broccoli and cheese that this was far better than anything they have ever had. This will go into my normal rotations! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
followed it to the t did not like recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TT Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Everybody loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States