Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
We made this for Christmas - we did tweak the recipe a little. Instead of 1 cup may we added a half cup of mayo and a half cup of sour cream. We added some of the onion crispy things that are typically added to a green bean casserole. Cheesy, creamy, and it will appeal to many people. Suggestions for the future: Use fresh broccoli, use an original type of cheese like an asiago perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYdolfin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is a recipe that is a family staple for all of our holidays. I misplaced my recipe and was thankful to find it here. However, the preparation for our recipe is different, and it does make a difference in the finished dish. Some of the ingredients are a tad different as well. First, we blanch and drain the broccoli. I think leaving out this step is why some of your dishes are coming out runny, it also makes the color appearance much better. Also, we use slightly less mayo, about 3/4 cup, more cheese (12 oz or 3 cups) and no salt or pepper. There is enough salt already in the soup. Also, we mix the broccoli into the soup mixture. Bake 45 minutes, and then top with finely smashed cheese crackers and return to oven for another 15 minutes or until cheese cracker crust is brown. It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKHDTDEVO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Very good. This was the only flavorful dish at the Christmas Pot Luck that I went to. I'm glad I brought it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This is definitely "Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole". I looked through a lot of recipies and picked this one to try. It is a definite keeper and I will serve it often. Thank you Stacy for sharing your mom's recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was literally AWESOME!!!!!!! Everyone LOVED it!! Thanks!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EH
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Awesome!! I made this on Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
used fresh broccoli as we dont care for frozen all that much. worked fine, with a 30-40 minute cook time no pre steaming needed. Did not use egg but added about 1/4 cup milk to dilute mixture before pouring over broc. Used 1/2 reg mayo and 1/2 reduced fat. Also sprinkled with seasoned bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This recipe was really good. I made it for thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I only made a couple small adjustments. I added a little chopped garlic and a little parmesan cheese. I will probably be trying it again with some rice and chopped chicken for a quick family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is a great recipe. Very simple to make and my family loves it. However, I did a extra cheese, that works for me. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My kids love this! I do not add the onion but, I add chopped cooked chicken to make this an entire meal not just a side dish. As a added treat I sprinkle crushed potato chips on top and the kids think it is a snack. Love IT! Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States