Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
was perfect and delicious. I did sub 1/2 cup low fat sour cream, but I am sure that if I added more cheese and mayo it would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I always feel guilty rating recipes when I change them. But I'm doing it anyway. This was SO good. Even better reheated in the microwave the next day. Here are my changes: instead of 1 cup of mayo, I used 1/2c each of mayo & sour cream. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I steamed it in a pot with some fresh garlic. I used cheddar & monterey jack cheese. I didn't measure the cheese, but I know I used way more than 8oz of cheese. Maybe double that. I also crushed about 20 ritz crackers on top before baking. Very yummy. I made this earlier in the day & just kept it covered in foil in the fridge until I was ready to pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was a tasty broccoli casserole. I used frozen baby broccoli florets rather than chopped and subbed out low fat sour cream for mayo. Used 2% cheddar cheese. I forgot the egg, and it was still fine. I did add some crushed reduced-fat CheezIts to the top for some crunch. It was definitely plenty salty even though I did not add any additional salt. I would suggest using reduced sodium soup unless you are a big salt fan. I used a can of regular cream of mushroom because it was purchased by mistake, and I think the flavor would have been better with less salt. Either way, still a good dish, and probably 5 stars with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Wonderful side dish, made it for Christmas dinner. I used two bags of frozen (steamer bags) of broccoli florets, 1/2 mayo and half sour cream. I also crushed entire sleeve of Ritz crackers on the top and added a few pats of butter. Everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious recipe! Easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Wonderful! Needed a last minute casserole for family gathering. Everyone loved it. Ingredients in recipe generally on-hand so just threw it together in no time. The easiest thing is to just combine all ingredients in large bowl after mixing up the egg with soup & wet ingredients, then add the cheese, then broccoli. Mix well then turn mixture into prepared 9x13 baking pan. I used the 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream, as well as topped the last 20 minutes with the 20 crushed Ritz with 2 Tbsp butter (suggested by another reviewer). Will definitely make again for easy potluck meals or holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Just made this and it was fantastic!! I followed the common suggestion I kept reading by other reviewers to omit the egg and use 1/2 cup mayo with 1/2 sour cream. I used Amy's Organic semi-condensed cream of mushroom soup and mixed cheddar cheese with muenster and others I had on hand. I used frozen organic broccoli right from the bag and the end product was not remotely soggy or undercooked - the texture was perfect! I also cooked 3 skinless chicken breasts in chicken broth, cut them up and added to the mixture before pouring into the pan to make it a full meal. I didn't have Ritz crackers for a topping so I just sprinkled some Panko bread crumbs on top and baked it that way. I served it over some steamed brown rice and I was very happy at how delicious this came out! My husband hates broccoli but loved this. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
In the past I always made a broccoli casserole on Thanksgiving using puff pastry on top. I didn't have the puff pastry this time so decided on this recipe seeing the good reviews. Between this and the slow cooker mashed potatoes I made and this my contribution to the meal that my extended family shared, was no great success. This was not very flavorful. No one had more than a tiny polite portion of it. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I've made this twice now. Once for Thanksgiving (it was the ONLY dish to be emptied) and once on a weekday night. We all really love this recipe. As others have mentioned, I changed the recipe only slightly by omitting the egg and using 1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream. This will definitely become a staple side dish in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Delicious. Not as cheesy as i thought it would be, but it was gOoooOoooD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States