Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was excellent! I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen,I steamed it prior to baking. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chunky Monkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was not exactly what I expected, but was really good! I pictured a more super-creamy, super-soft broccoli type dish, but my broccoli stayed nicely crisp and fresh, but was completely surrounded by decadent creamy super-cheesy goodness. This and mashed potatoes were the only two requests my vegetarian kid made for Christmas dinner this year, and it was a hit. I was a little leery of the full cup of mayo (even reduced fat), so I substituted about 1/3 of that with Greek yogurt... and then added another two handfuls of cheese on top, lest it become TOO healthy. Next time, buttered bread crumb topping, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I tried this and LOVE it. The only change I made was to use the Durkee fried onions instead of finely chopped raw, and I used 1/2 cup instead of 1/4. And I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen, which is not much of a change. Thanks for sharing! I love that it's mostly broccoli and without rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
was perfect and delicious. I did sub 1/2 cup low fat sour cream, but I am sure that if I added more cheese and mayo it would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I always feel guilty rating recipes when I change them. But I'm doing it anyway. This was SO good. Even better reheated in the microwave the next day. Here are my changes: instead of 1 cup of mayo, I used 1/2c each of mayo & sour cream. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I steamed it in a pot with some fresh garlic. I used cheddar & monterey jack cheese. I didn't measure the cheese, but I know I used way more than 8oz of cheese. Maybe double that. I also crushed about 20 ritz crackers on top before baking. Very yummy. I made this earlier in the day & just kept it covered in foil in the fridge until I was ready to pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was a tasty broccoli casserole. I used frozen baby broccoli florets rather than chopped and subbed out low fat sour cream for mayo. Used 2% cheddar cheese. I forgot the egg, and it was still fine. I did add some crushed reduced-fat CheezIts to the top for some crunch. It was definitely plenty salty even though I did not add any additional salt. I would suggest using reduced sodium soup unless you are a big salt fan. I used a can of regular cream of mushroom because it was purchased by mistake, and I think the flavor would have been better with less salt. Either way, still a good dish, and probably 5 stars with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Wonderful side dish, made it for Christmas dinner. I used two bags of frozen (steamer bags) of broccoli florets, 1/2 mayo and half sour cream. I also crushed entire sleeve of Ritz crackers on the top and added a few pats of butter. Everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious recipe! Easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Wonderful! Needed a last minute casserole for family gathering. Everyone loved it. Ingredients in recipe generally on-hand so just threw it together in no time. The easiest thing is to just combine all ingredients in large bowl after mixing up the egg with soup & wet ingredients, then add the cheese, then broccoli. Mix well then turn mixture into prepared 9x13 baking pan. I used the 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream, as well as topped the last 20 minutes with the 20 crushed Ritz with 2 Tbsp butter (suggested by another reviewer). Will definitely make again for easy potluck meals or holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Just made this and it was fantastic!! I followed the common suggestion I kept reading by other reviewers to omit the egg and use 1/2 cup mayo with 1/2 sour cream. I used Amy's Organic semi-condensed cream of mushroom soup and mixed cheddar cheese with muenster and others I had on hand. I used frozen organic broccoli right from the bag and the end product was not remotely soggy or undercooked - the texture was perfect! I also cooked 3 skinless chicken breasts in chicken broth, cut them up and added to the mixture before pouring into the pan to make it a full meal. I didn't have Ritz crackers for a topping so I just sprinkled some Panko bread crumbs on top and baked it that way. I served it over some steamed brown rice and I was very happy at how delicious this came out! My husband hates broccoli but loved this. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States