Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This has been an essential part of Thanksgiving dinner in my family for years, with one important addition. Cube 4 or 5 slices of fresh bread without crust. Put on top of casserole and drizzle with 2 T. butter prior to baking. The brown toasty topping is perfect. I make this the day before and cook half way without bread topping. The day of, I just take it out of the fridge a little early to take the chill off then top with bread cubes and butter and bake til bubbly and top is nicely browned. I think making it day before makes it better. It's best to cook the brocolli a bit and drain very well, then I just mix all ingredients except bread cubes and pat into pan. I usually use a little smaller casserole because I like it deeper. 9x13 spreads it a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
The very best! I didn't change a thing, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is fantastic. I only use a 1/2 cup of light mayo though. It is still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My roommate is diabetic, so this is a great low carb meal for us! just 2 small tweaks: 1)I also add fresh baby bella mushrooms and decrease the broccoli to 2 packages of frozen (otherwise it will overflow my pan), 2) I add in some chicken, also. We've just used the Tyson canned all white meat chicken, mixed it in, and the results are AMAZING. it turns the dish from a side dish to a complete meal. You could also use a roasted chicken from the store, but it takes longer to shred enough, ad we didn't taste a difference between that and the canned. GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My family and I found NOTHING AWESOME about this casserole. Bland! Blech! I'm sorry I tortured the broccoli that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This definately lives up to it's name as AWESOME! We loved it! Will be making this again soon. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Yum! I think I will use french fried onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justchrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great! Tastes like Cheddar's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyChefDave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was quick, easy, flavorful and everyone loved it! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this using fresh broccoli florets that I had left from a party. I steamed the florets (about 4 cups worth) and substituted them for the frozen broccoli. I added garlic powder, a dash of tabasco sauce in addition to generous amount of pepper and small amount of salt. I also sprinkled some seasoned bread crumbs on top. This didn't LOOK great, but the taste was wonderful. Next time I'll use the frozen broccoli and add some sour cream and see how that turns out---may also be nice to add some shredded carrots or pimentos for color. Thanks! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Station, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States