Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
The casserole is "awesome"; delicious, cheesy and rich, almost a meal in itself. I made a few changes though thanks to some suggestions from the reviewers. Used a large can of the soup just because I had one on hand and fresh broccoli, about a lb and 1/2. Split the mayo with sour cream and used more of each. Used half an onion and almost 2 cups shredded cheese, lots more paprika and several drops of hot sauce. Mixed it all together with the egg but it seemed a bit dry so I added about !/4 cup of fresh chicken broth I had just made. Lots of salt and pepper then topped with the crushed Ritz crackers with added paprika and sprayed with olive oil to help the browning. The broccoli was just right with just the right crispness. Make this casserole; your guests will devour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Morton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Super easy, super delicious. I didn't put the egg in, and didn't notice its absence at all. I had to cook the dish for a little longer in high altitude, but it tasted great. I didn't find that it warmed up very well the next day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I HAVE TO MAKE 2 PANS OF THIS STUFF EVERY HOLIDAY BECAUSE EVERYONE LOVES IT. THE ONLY THING I DO DIFFERENT THAN THE RECIPE IS ADD MORE SHREDDED CHEESE TO THE TOP BEFORE BAKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Pretty good recipe - I baked it for 48 minutes which was perfect. I used fresh broccolini because I had a ton of it and it came out tender but crunchy - al dente! Also, because I don't like the idea of using just mayonnaise I used 1/2 C mayo and 1/2 C ricotta cheese. It came out really tasty! Next time I make it I'll serve it over some turkey or potatoes, and maybe even add some bacon or mushrooms to the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great recipe. Instead of 3 bags of broccoli I used 1 bag (1lb 12 oz bag). I cut the mayo in half and only used 1/2 cup. For extra flavor I added a 1 tsp of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Longeway Hogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was absolutley delicous. It was a breeze to make. I used fresh broccolli. Thanks for the idea! Gonna add some seafood next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My kids loved it. It's also good for throwing in the little bits of leftovers that always seem to accumulate. I'm talking about the veggies and rice that aren't enough to feed the entire family but are too great a quantity to just toss after the initial meal. Chuck them into this and fire up the oven! Nothing goes to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Have made twice now! The kids love it and its great with ham, pork chops or even just a side with burgers one night! A different take from the usual broccoli cheese rice casserole...Def. a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Added chicken for a one pot dish and a little milk to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States