Awesome Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I am not a fan of frozen broccoli, so I used fresh broccoli steamed until tender crisp. I substituted frozen sweet corn (from Costco - it really tastes like fresh corn) for the canned corn. I use cream of mushroom instead of cream of broccoli soup. We prefer cheddar to Velveeta. I am now asked to bring this to every potluck. There are never leftovers! It's one of the best vegetable casseroles I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This was different. I did not like it. The sour cream was over powering to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I used 2/3 the bread crumbs and double the butter, and forgot the onions. I think the recipe is good, but the frozen broccoli kind of tastes sour - the cauliflower is good. Might go with frozen cauliflower and fresh broccoli (either sauteed or par-boiled) next time. I will take WILSONSGURL's suggestion and add velvetta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
Easy to prepare. Next time I will precook the brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This recipe was great. I read the comments and adjusted accordingly. I doubled the recipe for a large party and used one can cream of broccoli soup and one can cream of mushroom soup and only 1/2 the sour cream. I mixed all of the cheese in with the broccoli/soup mixture prior to baking. It was excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSUDAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. I altered the ingredients with Low-fat versions and it was just great. Also added chuncks of chicken under the top stuffing and made it the main course. Went great with salad, will definatly make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This is a very good casserole, although I made several changes that improved the flavor. I added lots more cheese. I got a pound of American cheese and shredded it, adding it into the broccoli mixture rather than putting it on top. I also used 1/2 cup of Italian breadcrumbs and 1/2 cup of crushed Ritz crackers mixed with 6 tbls of melted butter for a yummy topping. Rather than 16 ounces of sour cream, I used 8 ounces to cut back on the fat a little. Lastly, I added extra broccoli, which I cooked a bit before putting the mixture together. It is DEFINITELY a keeper of a recipe! I can't believe there are reviewers who do not like this recipe! It's one of the best Broccoli casseroles I've ever had!!:-) Thanks Cobra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I would probably make this recipe again but I would omit the corn and I would saute the onions first. I would also throw all the cheese in the mixture instead of putting it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This was my first attempt at making any kind of broccoli casserole. I am making it for my family for Thanksgiving.I took the advice of not adding a whole lot of onion and I added velveeta cheese into the casserole. I just took it out of the oven and tasted it and it is so delicious. I love this recipe and I am taking the recipe and sharing it with my family. Thank you so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This was really rich and fatty-tasty. (And I'm not a big health nut.) Next time I will try using lower fat cheese, sour cream and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States