Awesome Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I only read the first couple of reviews for this recipe before making it. I wish I had read them all, particularly the ones that indicated that there was wayyyy too much vinegar! I also found that this recipe calls for way too much vinegar. I had to keep adding more pasta & oil to attempt to balance it out. in the future, I'd start with maybe a third to half the original amount & increase as needed. vinegar issues aside, this is a good recipe. really quick & easy to just throw together with some leftover pasta. I added dried basil, oregano, salt, & pepper to taste, as well as some fresh minced garlic. I also added sunflower seeds because I'm addicted & will eat them any way I can. yum. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very delicious!!! I used pressed cottage cheese and added asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
It's not so much that this was so bad...as it wasn't so good. Way too vinegary, and mine didn't look at all as nice & bright as the picture. This recipe made a lot & I'm left with a ton of leftovers that I'm going to have to eat (I hate wasting food)! **********Followup********** Okay, I have to admit that this is much better the next day. I also added some peas that I had (about a cups worth) & an additional 2oz of feta, which cut the vinegar a bit. Much less vinegary...even enjoyable. I've revised up to 3 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnammonngirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made this as a side dish with supper last night and it was fabulous! A few small changes I made - when I normally make a balsamic vinagrette, I add sugar to balance out the flavor of the vinegar. I added about 1/2 cup to this recipe and the flavor was amazing. I also added sweet basil and used tomato basil feta cheese. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The basic idea is good, but the taste is flat. Try adding 1/2 cup Olives such as Kalamata, 2 C peeled chopped cucumbers, 1 tsp (or more) crushed whole dried oregano, a touch of sea salt and ground pepper on top if you like pepper. a few sweet peppers are good too. Subsitute the green onions with thinly sliced Red Onion. Chunked and blanched/chilled Zucchini are also very good in this mix. After all, it has a slight Greek taste with the Feta, so why not go all the way and give it some Greek Flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
my favorite pasta salad done in 10 min and delicious sits awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
So delicious! Per reading other reviews I also halved the balsamic vinaigrette and found it to be perfect that way. I also added some sunflower seeds to add a little crunch. I couldn't get enough, and I don't overly like pasta salad. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This pasta tasted wonderful, it was like the kind you order at a fancy restaurant. Except, me and my fiance made a few changes. While the pasta was cooking we sauted some chopped red onions in the olive oil (in a seperate pot). Then mixed the tomatoes and green onions in a bowl, I put some parsley and oregeno in it. When the onions were done sauting we added the tomato mixture and the cooked pasta along with half of the feta cheese to warm up. I only put 1/4 cup or less of balsamic vinegar because it seemed very strong. After the vinegar was added we turned off the stove and ate the pasta hot. We sprinkled the remaining feta cheese on top and served it with spiced chicken and veggies. Best homemade supper this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is so good. It does not look like the picture though it turns out more brown because of the balsamic Vinegar. I couldn't stop eating it. Everyone in my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe seems more appropriate as lighter/summer salad dish. I added lightly toasted pine nuts to my recipe, but that still wasn't enough of an umph to make this recipe more than average in my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States