Awesome Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I will soon, for an upcoming party. However, I see a LOT of potential for this salad to be a great side dish! I've read some of the reviews, and as far as I can tell, most of the bad reviews mentioned that this recipe contains too much vinegar. Well, for goodness sakes, people - a good cook knows that in most salad dressings, the ratio of oil to vinegar is 2:1. By that I mean, if you see that a recipe calls for 1/4 cup of oil (of any type), the amount of vinegar (or any acidic compound, for that matter) should be 1/8 cup. It's possible there is a typo in the initial recipe! SO, give it a chance! Also, feta cheese is tangy itself...if you think about it, perhaps this recipe would need 1/2 cup of extra-virgin olive oil, to a scant 1/4 (or even less) cup of a good balsamic vinegar to offset the feta cheese! AND, I cannot possibly fathom why anyone would go to the trouble and expense of boiling up some pasta, cooling it off, then pouring on the dressing without at least giving the dressing a taste test! At any rate, I'm giving this recipe 5 stars, even though I haven't even made it yet! Again, I see a lot of potential in this salad, especially since, as one reviewer pointed out, she let it sit in the fridge overnight - if you do that, you can always drain the pasta the next day, and adjust the seasonings. Then, you can add fresh basil and parsley (if you want!), as those herbs would wilt, sitting in the fridge all night. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This pasta looks and tastes delicious! Anyone who has not tried this dish sent from heaven must try it soon! Now, everyone has their own taste, so I understand you may want to add a little more vinegar or tomatoes, but I think it is perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe was fantastic my family and I enjoyed it. I made a little change to it but it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I ate this hot, it was good. I used a can of stewed tomatoes, used only about a T. of balsamic vineagar, couple splashes of olive oil, no green onion. I topped the pasta with the feta and fresh grated parmesan. I added basil, oregano, salt, and fresh ground pepper. It's a good recipe for when you don't have a lot of ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I like this recipe, it's super simple and quick. I have used canned diced tomato to save more time and tons of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
What a wonderful salad! A refreshing change from the usual "mayo" salads. Made it once as written, and then with red onions in place of green and liked it even more. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I should have known NOT to use balsamic VINEGAR I should have just used vinaigrette. This literally tasted like eating pasta drowned in balsamic vinegar. Next time, I think i'll just use greek dressing or balsamic vinaigrette. And no, it's definitely heavy. I was expecting it to be nice and white looking but obviously this wasn't the case since the vinegar is brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I love this pasta salad! My family, loves this pasta salad. I did take the suggestion of others and cut the vinegar in half. My husband, the cook in the family, likes more olive oil. I used grape tomatoes and I added a yellow bell pepper. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Didn't like this recipe a whole lot - One quick tip....you can't go wrong with pasta, spinach, feta, tomato, bacon, and good seasons dressing....that is our favorite summer salad. Sorry but this recipe just didn't do anything for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States