Awesome Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Sorry to say these were a big disappointment. They were runny/gloppy and no matter how long I cooked them they had a sort of underdone texture that I thought was awful. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Tried this recipe while substituting milk for buttermilk. It was okay, but very, very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
It was good, different not same old pancake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Not having tried the tweaks I don't care for the recipe. my pancakes came out, well, flat as pancakes. The science didn't work this time. I guess I will stick to my buttermilk pancakes and springboard from there. Thanks, however, for sharing! This is how I have always learned to cook; trial and error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
i thought the flavor was great, i used the "most helpful positive review" tweeks, and it made really good crepes....not really pancakes though...but put some homemade gingerbread whipped cream in here and you've got yourself an awesome breakfast/brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Only 1 cup of flour to 2 cups of buttermilk made for a very soupy batter, and these pancakes were certainly not fluffy. The addition of a little vanilla and 1/4 cup sugar helped a little with flavor,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
There is NOT too much liquid. That part is just right. I added about a tablespoon of coconut oil, a good dash of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Used 1/2 teaspoon each of baking powder and soda. These are very moist pancakes. With my adaptations, I'd give this a 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These were not fluffy, they were soggy. Not enough flour and not enough baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I didn't care much for this recipe at all. The texture was mushy and we found the pancakes to be inedible. I just went back to my base pancake recipe I always make and added some banana to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Ok, don't know why this gets such poor reviews! I followed the tweaking given in the reviews, used 3/4 cup buttermilk, 1 1/4 tsp double acting baking powder, and 4 over-ripe bananas. These were fluffy, with the creamy banana in the middle and full of banana flavor, plus they smelled fricken' awesome when cooking! Here's a hint people: when mashing the bananas use an actual "masher", not a blender or food processor. Also mix this by hand with a wisk, not a hand mixer. That's how this becomes too liquidy. Don't over mix, just mix until all the dry ingredients are incorporated and the batter is lumpy. Let the batter stand while you get your skillet heated up ( 1-3 minutes). Also make sure you grease your skillet or pan and use low to medium heat, otherwise these will get burnt before they are done in the middle. Follow these tips and this recipe WILL be awesome! Next time I'm gonna put cinnamon and chopped nuts in it and it'll kick butt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States