Awesome Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Okay, 5 stars based on how I made them. Cut the buttermilk to 3/4C, used 1.25C flour, 1.25t baking powder, four bananas and about 1/2T honey. Really, really good; lots of banana flavor, moist and fluffy. This made about 12 6" pancakes. Next time, I may add some oatmeal as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Ok, don't know why this gets such poor reviews! I followed the tweaking given in the reviews, used 3/4 cup buttermilk, 1 1/4 tsp double acting baking powder, and 4 over-ripe bananas. These were fluffy, with the creamy banana in the middle and full of banana flavor, plus they smelled fricken' awesome when cooking! Here's a hint people: when mashing the bananas use an actual "masher", not a blender or food processor. Also mix this by hand with a wisk, not a hand mixer. That's how this becomes too liquidy. Don't over mix, just mix until all the dry ingredients are incorporated and the batter is lumpy. Let the batter stand while you get your skillet heated up ( 1-3 minutes). Also make sure you grease your skillet or pan and use low to medium heat, otherwise these will get burnt before they are done in the middle. Follow these tips and this recipe WILL be awesome! Next time I'm gonna put cinnamon and chopped nuts in it and it'll kick butt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
i thought the flavor was great, i used the "most helpful positive review" tweeks, and it made really good crepes....not really pancakes though...but put some homemade gingerbread whipped cream in here and you've got yourself an awesome breakfast/brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
these came out great! They're a little mooshy-er than regular pancakes, but sweet, delicious, easy to make. definitely fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
It was good, different not same old pancake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Tried this recipe while substituting milk for buttermilk. It was okay, but very, very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I can't give full stars, since I did some tweaking, but this is a good base. I increased the flour by 1/2 a cup, I used whole wheat flour and added vanilla and 1 tbsp of brown sugar to the batter, as well as a pinch of nutmeg. The result was pretty spectacular. My family asks for these every Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made these pancakes mainly to get rid of bananas and buttermilk . . .now I have a stack of pancakes I have to do something with (I may freeze them) LOL! I read through all of the reviews prior to making and I have to agree that there's way too much liquid in this. So, I cut it down to 1 c like another reviewer. I had four bananas to use, so I just mashed them all and added a bit more flour, baking powder, added sugar (about 2 tspns) and vanilla and cinnamon. they turned out really good--tons of banana flavor in every bite, and not too sweet or too bland. I have to say, though, that since I made so many modifications I'm not sure how close to the original recipe this is; it's definitely one you have to tweak to what works for you. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Not having tried the tweaks I don't care for the recipe. my pancakes came out, well, flat as pancakes. The science didn't work this time. I guess I will stick to my buttermilk pancakes and springboard from there. Thanks, however, for sharing! This is how I have always learned to cook; trial and error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These came out way too runny! I would reccomend using 1/2 the amount of buttermilk or making them into crepes instead. They did have great flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States