Awesome Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made these pancakes mainly to get rid of bananas and buttermilk . . .now I have a stack of pancakes I have to do something with (I may freeze them) LOL! I read through all of the reviews prior to making and I have to agree that there's way too much liquid in this. So, I cut it down to 1 c like another reviewer. I had four bananas to use, so I just mashed them all and added a bit more flour, baking powder, added sugar (about 2 tspns) and vanilla and cinnamon. they turned out really good--tons of banana flavor in every bite, and not too sweet or too bland. I have to say, though, that since I made so many modifications I'm not sure how close to the original recipe this is; it's definitely one you have to tweak to what works for you. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
There is nothing awsome about these pancakes. I evne followed the tweeks that some one else did. Decrease the buttermilk, add honey and added baking powder. My husband said these are not a keeper. But on a positive note the kids liked them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
these were terrible. don't bother. bland, mushy, and they quickly burned the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Okay, 5 stars based on how I made them. Cut the buttermilk to 3/4C, used 1.25C flour, 1.25t baking powder, four bananas and about 1/2T honey. Really, really good; lots of banana flavor, moist and fluffy. This made about 12 6" pancakes. Next time, I may add some oatmeal as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Batter was too liquidy so I added more flour. There just wasn't much taste to it at all. The only salvaging this recipe was adding chocolate chips. Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I can't give full stars, since I did some tweaking, but this is a good base. I increased the flour by 1/2 a cup, I used whole wheat flour and added vanilla and 1 tbsp of brown sugar to the batter, as well as a pinch of nutmeg. The result was pretty spectacular. My family asks for these every Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These came out way too runny! I would reccomend using 1/2 the amount of buttermilk or making them into crepes instead. They did have great flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
it worked out to be too liquidy and the flavour while nicely flavoured with banana was not favoured by the family....will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
these came out great! They're a little mooshy-er than regular pancakes, but sweet, delicious, easy to make. definitely fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States