Awesome Baked Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I divided the dish into boat ramekins and then drizzled a tablespoon of white wine over each one (I mean, what could be bad with that!) Also, for the breadcrumbs, I used crumbs from baguettes that I had frozen. I think if you use those store-bought dried crumbs, you won't enjoy the results. These "fresh" crumbs were fantastic. They absorbed the flavours and browned beautifully, giving a nice crunch to the finished dish. My husband felt there was too much butter, so I may cut it down a bit the next time. Definitely a company dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
We made this recipe as published. While in theory this is a good dish, in practice the scallops are overwhelmed by the volume of breadcrumbs. Making it this way results in a "heavy" dish. Do yourself a favor (in my humble opinion)- use one shallot, three cloves garlic, and cut the amount of breadcrumbs to 1/2 cup max for the same number of scallops. The breadcrumbs should be an accent allowing the scallops to shine, not piled on top like a cherry crumb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I enjoyed them the second day better To much breading . I would cut back on bread crumbs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I felt like the amount of breadcrumbs used was overkill, and my cooking time took about twice as long as it said for the scallops to be cooked. Other than that, they tasted great and were fairly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Great recipe. I love that it is simple and the ingredients are readily available. I had to halve the recipe because only having half the amount of scallops and it still turned out great. I will be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NiteTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe, but I would suggest one change: I find that the breadcrumbs tend to get a little mushy, and I now use herb-seasoned stuffing (Pepperidge Farm does nicely). The texture is a little rougher than breadcrumbs, and the seasoning goes well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good considering I used baby scallops. Didn't want to spring for the big ones. Did make allot of topping but did not have a problem getting it to brown. Made linguine and alfredo sauce to go with it. Very good dinner for just the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupatea4thee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was not a hit with us. I would suggest searing the scallops first, add half the garlic, half the bread crumbs with 2 tbls melted butter instead of oil. Flavors were to powerful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I put in 5 cloves of garlic, but used 36 scallops. Doubled everything except for the topping, which was pronounced at our table to be awesome. This is a definite keeper, both for ease and awesomeness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I loved this recipe! I have been searching for an easy and delicious way to prepare scallops. To suit my husband's taste, I added a few pinches of Old Bay seasoning and reduced the amount of breadcumbs. I also used butter in place of olive oil. Will be making this dish for years to come! Stephanie S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States