Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I gave this recipe four stars but it's exceptional when you add some more heat. (I omitted the carrots, celery) I added cayenne pepper and a bit of ground chili pepper. Smells fantastic! You will not be disappointed with this recipe. I cooked it a day early to give the flavors time but I had to practically beat my family out of the kitchen from wanting to eat it tonight! I plan on making a cornbread recipe from this site to go w/ it tomorrow. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great recipe. The family loved it and they are picky eaters. Three minor changes: 1) 2 tablespoons garlic 2) Substitute can of refried beans and 8oz of tomato sauce for tomato paste. 3) Add a small can of green chilies when adding the first batch of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I brought this to our church chili bake off and I did not win. The winner put in garlic, bay leaf, more cumin, smoked paparika and I used red wine. The flavors were great, but I think this would help to win and taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
The only reason I gave this four stars was becaus we made a few changes but they were for personal reasons. I consider us to be somewhat of "chili snobs". We've always just really liked our own chili recipe and may veer sometimes but always come back to it. but today we tried this and it was kick butt! I was intrigued at the steak sauce and wine addition and it has a great flavor! I gave it four stars ONLY because we like spicey chili and I threw in a lot more pepper flakes and three serrano peppers. Other than that - FAB! Thanks for opening our eyes to your great chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Loved it!!!! I just won the chili cook off at my husbands work today with this recipe. I did double up on the peppers, wine and cumin and added a beer. Thanks for the recipe it was great. Making it again today for the Giants playoff game hopefully it brings them luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was the best chili I have made yet. I made a few modifications because I didnt have all the ingredients on hand, i left out the cumin all together since i had none, and I added mushrooms and corn since i didnt have any carrots. Used diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. Turned out really flavorful!! I am making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
instead of white wine i used pabst blue ribbon beer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Phenomenal recipe!!! I have been making this recipe for a few years now, I use ground turkey instead of beef, and I don't use bacon. My husband can't wait until it's "Chili Season". Everyone LOVES this chili. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is my favorite Chili recipe now. I've used the same recipe for the past 20 years and this has now replace my old recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This chili recipe came in dead LAST (out of 14 chili's) during an annual chili cook-off this past weekend. I was extremely disappointed in the way this turned out and I followed the directions perfectly. For true chili lovers, DO NOT make this recipe, it doesn't taste like chili, at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States