Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I chose not to use the carrot or celery, like others. I also used red wine instead of white, added a couple dashes of hot sauce, and omitted cilantro/parsley. I had crushed tomatoes, instead of the stewed, and I ended up using the entire 28 oz. can, because it was a little too thick otherwise. Also, used a packet of taco seasoning instead of chili seasoning, because that's what I had. It was great and also quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Also won a local chili judging with a variant of this recipe. Similar to what some others have said. good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great! Very customizable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I am not a huge chilli fan and I've never made it before. But this was very good and everyone raved about it! I changed a few things, I used a whole red pepper and green pepper, one jalepeno and a small can of green chillies. Added two cans of beef broth and a can of tomatoe sauce since all the reviews said how thick it was. It was award winning in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is awesome. FYI I used Aylmer Accents cracked black pepper and roasted garlic stewed tomatoes and roasted garlic tomato paste. For the steak sauce I used HP Bold and Old-Al-Paso chili seasoning mix. The bacon was maple smoked. I don't eat meat very often but if I was going to cheat I'm happy it was with this dish! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made 7 (seven) gallons of this amazing chili for a cook-off yesterday. (28 Jan. 2012). I was competing for our Humane Society, and was up against chefs from some of the best restaurants in town. It was my chili vs. experienced chefs' chili. It was a hit and I took 2nd place! (out of over 20 entries). I made a few adjustments because I was making such a huge amount. I omitted the fresh cilantro, and used dried parsley instead of fresh. I grated carrots into the chili instead of chunks. The carrots cut the acidity of the tomatoes nicely. I used more wine than suggested. (some for me, some for chili). I also opted for fire roasted, jalapeno diced tomatoes and gave it more "heat" by adding pepper sauce with the pepper flakes. I put in celery salt, replacing the celery. I added garlic powder and used a lot of ground chuck. (chili should be extra meaty for competitions). I put the packet of chili seasoning directly into chili instead of with the meat. This is a wonderful chili recipe & I recommend chili lovers to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Skip the carrots and celery. My husband said, too sweet and v8 tasting. Other then that, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious! I only had one lb. of beef so I added a can of diced tomatoes and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I give this 4.5 STARS. I followed the ingredients except I added the veggies after slow cooking the meat for 45 minutes. This way I did not overcooked the veggies. I entered it to a neighborhood chillifest contest and earned the people's choice award. I added beef broth instead of just plain water to add flavor and get desired consistency.Put more hot chili flakes and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
So this was the first recipe I have used from this site. After reading some reviews I decided to pick this one & I'm glad I did. This chili was AWESOME! Now Jennifer did a great job of coming up with this but I twicked it a little. Instead of stew tomatoes I went with fire roasted. I didn't go with the carrots(don't really understand why you would use those) I also had some chipotle seasoning that I got from New Mexico so used that instead of the chili seasoning. I did use 1 ca of beans but i suggest using 2 can instead. Last but not least I'm in Kentucky so instead of using the white wine, that's right i went with bourbon instead. I went with Four Roses Single Barrel(no measuring just eye it by taste). The bourbon really ups the spice flavor in the whole meal. Award winning chili, u bet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheVille
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States