Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Also won a local chili judging with a variant of this recipe. Similar to what some others have said. good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great! Very customizable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I am not a huge chilli fan and I've never made it before. But this was very good and everyone raved about it! I changed a few things, I used a whole red pepper and green pepper, one jalepeno and a small can of green chillies. Added two cans of beef broth and a can of tomatoe sauce since all the reviews said how thick it was. It was award winning in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is awesome. FYI I used Aylmer Accents cracked black pepper and roasted garlic stewed tomatoes and roasted garlic tomato paste. For the steak sauce I used HP Bold and Old-Al-Paso chili seasoning mix. The bacon was maple smoked. I don't eat meat very often but if I was going to cheat I'm happy it was with this dish! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made 7 (seven) gallons of this amazing chili for a cook-off yesterday. (28 Jan. 2012). I was competing for our Humane Society, and was up against chefs from some of the best restaurants in town. It was my chili vs. experienced chefs' chili. It was a hit and I took 2nd place! (out of over 20 entries). I made a few adjustments because I was making such a huge amount. I omitted the fresh cilantro, and used dried parsley instead of fresh. I grated carrots into the chili instead of chunks. The carrots cut the acidity of the tomatoes nicely. I used more wine than suggested. (some for me, some for chili). I also opted for fire roasted, jalapeno diced tomatoes and gave it more "heat" by adding pepper sauce with the pepper flakes. I put in celery salt, replacing the celery. I added garlic powder and used a lot of ground chuck. (chili should be extra meaty for competitions). I put the packet of chili seasoning directly into chili instead of with the meat. This is a wonderful chili recipe & I recommend chili lovers to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Skip the carrots and celery. My husband said, too sweet and v8 tasting. Other then that, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious! I only had one lb. of beef so I added a can of diced tomatoes and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I give this 4.5 STARS. I followed the ingredients except I added the veggies after slow cooking the meat for 45 minutes. This way I did not overcooked the veggies. I entered it to a neighborhood chillifest contest and earned the people's choice award. I added beef broth instead of just plain water to add flavor and get desired consistency.Put more hot chili flakes and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
So this was the first recipe I have used from this site. After reading some reviews I decided to pick this one & I'm glad I did. This chili was AWESOME! Now Jennifer did a great job of coming up with this but I twicked it a little. Instead of stew tomatoes I went with fire roasted. I didn't go with the carrots(don't really understand why you would use those) I also had some chipotle seasoning that I got from New Mexico so used that instead of the chili seasoning. I did use 1 ca of beans but i suggest using 2 can instead. Last but not least I'm in Kentucky so instead of using the white wine, that's right i went with bourbon instead. I went with Four Roses Single Barrel(no measuring just eye it by taste). The bourbon really ups the spice flavor in the whole meal. Award winning chili, u bet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheVille
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. I added green onion and crushed corn chips for more color and texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States