Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did use re hydrated pinto and black beans instead of kidney beans. I also added a jalapeno because I thought a pinch of red pepper flakes just doesn't add the kick that chili needs. I probably could have used another. Other then that I followed the recipe to the T and it was really good. I will keep this recipe on hand with the addition of 2 jalapenos added. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is our favorite chili recipe. The only thing I don't add is the cilantro. I don't care for that personally. This makes great chili cheese dip the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I modified the recipe a litle, used an entire bottle of steak sauce, and 2/3 cup of wine, it was awesome.....maybe the best chilli i have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, and added a bit more steak sauce to keep it moist, I let it simmer for about an hour or so, until the peppers and carrots were tender. My family devoured every bit! I am making this chili again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great base recipe. The first time I followed the recipe fairly close and thought it to be a bit sweet and that it didn't have enough heat to it. This time I used ground turkey, left out the carrots and used beer instead of the white wine. I also added a few jalapeno peppers and put a few extra pinches of red pepper flakes. The final touch was to put in some course chopped garlic cloves. Absolutely love it now and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baileys52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lebel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was VERY good..... it is not your everyday chili.... the flavor over the top!!! I added a little sugar to bring out the flavor more.... and wow there are amazing flavors here. If you use a sweet steak sauce, you may not need to add any sugar. If the chili is too sweet for your taste just add a little more salt.....it all works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
good w/ deer meat, a little spicy for some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is simply heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great recipe! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States