Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made quite a few changes to this, and boy was it great! If I haven't mentioned an ingredient in this review, it is because I used what was in the original recipe. I used 2 1/2 pounds of lean ground beef (I had about 10 people to feed and I like it meaty and thick), so I doubled the chili mix, the kidney beans, steak sauce, green and red pepper, as well as red pepper flakes and cumin. Instead of stewed tomatoes, I used one big (32 oz?) can of organic fire roasted chopped tomatoes with the juice. I did NOT add carrots or celery. I added about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper, and about 5 tablespoons of fresh cilantro. Finally, I shook in some chili powder to taste. Of course I sprinkle this with freshly grated cheddar before serving and serve corn bread or muffins on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I have made many a chili. All of which I have loved. However, my wife has loved none. This one however was loved by all. I made it last weekend and my wife wants it again this weekend. I used ground turkey (again, the wife) instead of beef. Also, skipped the bacon (wife). Did it a slow cooker for 10 hours. Excellent! If too mild, a couple of dashes of hotsauce (not for the wife) will do the trick. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
My husband LOVES chili and I have had a hard time finding a recipe that suited his picky taste. Well this one did it! He and I both really enjoy this chili. It does taste great re-heated. To make things quicker we use the Oscar Meyer real bacon bits found in the salad dressing aisle. It is peices of real chopped bacon in a vacuum sealed bag already cooked. I thought it may make a negative impact on the taste, but it really didn't. It cut down our cooking time and also the fat content. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Awesome! My husband and I tried this last night, and we are hooked! I made the following adjustments to fit our tastes/nutritional menu: we substituted 99% fat free ground turkey for the ground beef; we made our own chili seasoning with cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper and garlic powder; we omitted the bacon and tomato paste; we added half a can of tomato juice (some reviewers suggested water or beef broth, but we like a more tomatoey chili) and a second can of sliced stewed tomatoes; we added more carrot (we diced 1/3 of a bag of carrot chips), more green and red bell pepper and minced garlic to the mix as well as 2 cans of drained/rinsed organic black beans (in place of the 1 can of kidney beans) and a can of drained white corn. I also cut down on the parsley to 1/2 tsp and dried cilantro to 1/4 tsp. Wow! As the chili cooked, the liquid dissipated a bit, so we added more tomato juice as needed and upped the amount of steak sauce (we used A1) and added more white wine (marsala) to taste. The result was a very hearty and delicious chili with the most superb taste! I served it with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and chopped white onion for a kick with a side of organic blue tortilla chips. We can't wait for leftovers tonight, and we will definitely be making this recipe again and again. There is so much you can do with this recipe to adjust it to your personal taste preferences, yet the end result will always be great. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a five-star chili recipe, if there ever was one. We like a meaty chili, so I used 2 pounds of ground beef, instead of the 1.5 pounds called for. Obviously, that required more liquid be added to this already somewhat "dry" chili, so I added two small cans of tomato sauce--just enough to keep all the ingredients from sticking together like paste. Every few bites, one catches a whiff of bacon, which is quite pleasant indeed. I used real bacon, which I think is clearly the way to go. The 57 Sauce, cilantro, and parsley all contribute their own subtle additions. This recipe is well planned and I highly recommend it. It takes a little time but is quite worth it. Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I made this chili and my usual chili recipe for my son's birthday party. All my guests liked this one better..I have found a new chili recipe! I didn't add celery or carrots. At the advice of other reviewers I added a 14.5 ounce can tomato sauce and a 14.5 ounce can beef broth to thin it out. I also added one whole red pepper and one whole green pepper. Even my complete "country boy" brother in law raved over this one (and he was skeptical about the wine in the chili!!) It's not very spicey, so if you like it hot, add a few more pinches of red pepper flakes. VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 in family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Easy and darn good! I didn't use the carrots, but definitely used the bacon and may add a bit more next time. The bacon adds a wonderful, smoky base to the chili. Also chopped up a small red-hot chili pepper to spice it up a little. Used Heinz 57 for the steak sauce. The chili lasted all week -- very economical meal planning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Definitely a FIVE STAR RECIPE!!! I have made this chili for my family many, many times and it never fails to impress! This is, by far, the best chili recipe I have ever found. We like it spicy so we add chili powder and hot sauce. We also eat it with sour cream, chopped onions and cheese. It's even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was a good easy chilli recipe. Next time I will leave out the carrots they add a crunch to the chili that it does not need. also, I might add something to give it some heat! this version is very mild. We added garlic power and I think it worked out just fine. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Great chili recipe, it was quite thick and needed to have water added to it. We added about 2-3 cups of water, alittle at a time. We did not add the carrots or wine, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States