Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Phenomenal recipe!!! I have been making this recipe for a few years now, I use ground turkey instead of beef, and I don't use bacon. My husband can't wait until it's "Chili Season". Everyone LOVES this chili. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is my favorite Chili recipe now. I've used the same recipe for the past 20 years and this has now replace my old recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This chili recipe came in dead LAST (out of 14 chili's) during an annual chili cook-off this past weekend. I was extremely disappointed in the way this turned out and I followed the directions perfectly. For true chili lovers, DO NOT make this recipe, it doesn't taste like chili, at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Hmmmm - curious. There is something VERY delicious about this chili. It could be that it has cilantro, my favourite herb - mmmm. But I think its maybe the combination of onion, carrot, bell pepper, and cilantro really. Its sooo good - and I made a vegetarian version to! ... Plus I didn't even have nice meaty beans like kidney beans and just used borlottis for my protein, but it was - is! - sooo good. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent recipe - and even better as a base to personalize to your own taste. The flavors from the carrots and celery help to make it complex, but I opted to grate (large setting) rather than chop to make a smoother texture. We made a meatless version, so for extra liquid and flavor I added a cup of beef broth. I thought red wine would be more appropriate, so I used leftover Petite Syrah rather than white wine. Finally, for an added spike of flavor, try coriander seed, oregano and sage and a 1/4 of a lime cooked with the chili rounded out all the sweet ingredients. Definitely five star, whether or not you add your own ingredients. By the way, I agree with a few other posts that it needed some more heat, so we added significantly more red pepper. Next time I'll consider adding fresh jalapeno and perhaps some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This wasn't my 100% favorite, but in all fairness, I didn't have all the ingredients. I used diced tomatoes with green pepper, 1 lb of ground beef, half of a package of chili seasoning (so it wouldn't bee to strong), left out red pepper flakes and parsley. Next time, I wouldn't use any carrot and would consider using more bacon, which added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very thick. Guests thanked me for the dip. Tasted OK, nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogodigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was great! I omitted the celery & carrots, & added cayenne pepper, and more chili powder for some added kick. The steak sauce added a nice flavor. I love trying new chili recipes, and this is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
The chili recipe I've been searching for! My husband and I aren't fans of watery chili so this thick chili hit the spot. After reading the other reviews I skipped the celery and carrots and didn't miss them. I served it over cornbread with cheddar cheese and sour cream on top-delicious! *The only change I would make would be cut the steak sauce down to 1/4 cup as the flavor was a little strong*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a great Super Bowl Chili, I also spooned some over a home made potatoe skin then added some sour cream on the bottom, and topped with some shredded mexican cheese atop...Very Filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States