Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe and made itfor a chili cook-off today and loved it - competition is later! I followed some of the review tips I read and added 2 spoonfuls of minced garlic, 1/2 bag of frozen corn, substituted marsala cooking wine for white wine, chopped an entire green and red pepper, used A-1 steak sauce, heavy red pepper flakes, chili beans, no parsley, heavy cilantro, splash of beef broth and splash of spicey tomatoe juice. I decided to cook in the crock pot and then lightly layered with Louisiana Hot Sauce and Zatarain's Creole Seasoning - cooked all night. I expect a trophy today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have made this a few times. Everyone loves it and it is not too spicy to serve a picky crowd. It is also easy to adjust to what you have on hand but great just as described! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjschulze
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I didn't care for it. My wife thought it was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Blau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Although I don't care for carrots in my chili, I made this exactly to the recipe instructions so that I could do a true rating. It is excellent! I like chili with a good kick so next time I will add extra ancho chili powder but other than that, it is an excellent bowl of chili and has wonderful flavor with a bit of sweetness that I really like. The steak sauce and bacon and wine come through nicely together. It is a very thick chili so you will need to add water a little at a time to get the desired consistency, just like the header instructions stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
EXCELLENT CHILI!! I made this for a work chili cookoff and was the winning pot out of 7! Thanks for sending me to the movies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
AMAZING chili. Used A-1 sauce and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbbutler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I won 1st place at my office chili-cook off with this recipe! And I don't even like chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Really good chili. The VERY picky husband said it was the best chili he's ever had. I used the veggies (just sauteed them with minced garlic first before adding the tomatoes, wine, etc). Served with shredded cheddar cheese and the Sweet Cornbread recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
ok, not your traditional chili, but ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Wow, what a GREAT chili! I have made this twice now, once for tailgating and once yesterday for Super Bowl party. Each time, EVERYONE requests the recipe. I did omit the carrots (because I forgot to buy some), used Heinz 57, and increased the meat to 2 pounds (we like meatier chili). Everything else, I did as written. For yesterday's recipe, I cooked the meat as directed then combined the cooked meat and all the other ingredients in a crock pot. I cooked it on low for several hours. Thank you, Jennifer for our new chili staple recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States