Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
No doubt the best chili I have ever eaten and I eat lots of chili! It's the steak sauce that makes it! There is no heat in this so I added my own chili extract to spice it up a bit.the flavor is spot on. The last time I made this I added some chopped rib eye steak and it was great! I'm glad I found this recipe for sure. My belly thanks you Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This chili is very good. I used beer instead of wine. that was the only change i made. I will say it kept me coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlvr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
What an amazing recipe! Since we like our chili really hearty I added an extra red bell pepper and an extra onion. I also added 4 cloves of minced garlic. Thank you very much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Jauré
Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I stayed as close to this recipe as I could. My only change is that I had a 1lbs of beef and 1/2lbs of pork sausage. Instead of steak sauce, I had hickory, brown sugar barbecue sauce. The rest was the same. This was a very thick chili that I had to add some beef stock/water to. If I didn't add anything, it would basically be sloppy joe mix. The flavor was outstanding and I personally loved the crunch that the carrots added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was a great recipe! I came in second place in a recent chilli cook-off. I did make one change; I added diced cilantro to give it a more Latin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Good chili, a little different than your usual chili. I'm sorry but i can eat the brown bag chili all day, but this is really good. I like the crunch of the carrots. Worth the time to make for "company folks" chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe and made itfor a chili cook-off today and loved it - competition is later! I followed some of the review tips I read and added 2 spoonfuls of minced garlic, 1/2 bag of frozen corn, substituted marsala cooking wine for white wine, chopped an entire green and red pepper, used A-1 steak sauce, heavy red pepper flakes, chili beans, no parsley, heavy cilantro, splash of beef broth and splash of spicey tomatoe juice. I decided to cook in the crock pot and then lightly layered with Louisiana Hot Sauce and Zatarain's Creole Seasoning - cooked all night. I expect a trophy today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have made this a few times. Everyone loves it and it is not too spicy to serve a picky crowd. It is also easy to adjust to what you have on hand but great just as described! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjschulze
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I didn't care for it. My wife thought it was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Blau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Although I don't care for carrots in my chili, I made this exactly to the recipe instructions so that I could do a true rating. It is excellent! I like chili with a good kick so next time I will add extra ancho chili powder but other than that, it is an excellent bowl of chili and has wonderful flavor with a bit of sweetness that I really like. The steak sauce and bacon and wine come through nicely together. It is a very thick chili so you will need to add water a little at a time to get the desired consistency, just like the header instructions stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States