Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I am not a huge chilli fan and I've never made it before. But this was very good and everyone raved about it! I changed a few things, I used a whole red pepper and green pepper, one jalepeno and a small can of green chillies. Added two cans of beef broth and a can of tomatoe sauce since all the reviews said how thick it was. It was award winning in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is awesome. FYI I used Aylmer Accents cracked black pepper and roasted garlic stewed tomatoes and roasted garlic tomato paste. For the steak sauce I used HP Bold and Old-Al-Paso chili seasoning mix. The bacon was maple smoked. I don't eat meat very often but if I was going to cheat I'm happy it was with this dish! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made 7 (seven) gallons of this amazing chili for a cook-off yesterday. (28 Jan. 2012). I was competing for our Humane Society, and was up against chefs from some of the best restaurants in town. It was my chili vs. experienced chefs' chili. It was a hit and I took 2nd place! (out of over 20 entries). I made a few adjustments because I was making such a huge amount. I omitted the fresh cilantro, and used dried parsley instead of fresh. I grated carrots into the chili instead of chunks. The carrots cut the acidity of the tomatoes nicely. I used more wine than suggested. (some for me, some for chili). I also opted for fire roasted, jalapeno diced tomatoes and gave it more "heat" by adding pepper sauce with the pepper flakes. I put in celery salt, replacing the celery. I added garlic powder and used a lot of ground chuck. (chili should be extra meaty for competitions). I put the packet of chili seasoning directly into chili instead of with the meat. This is a wonderful chili recipe & I recommend chili lovers to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Skip the carrots and celery. My husband said, too sweet and v8 tasting. Other then that, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious! I only had one lb. of beef so I added a can of diced tomatoes and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I give this 4.5 STARS. I followed the ingredients except I added the veggies after slow cooking the meat for 45 minutes. This way I did not overcooked the veggies. I entered it to a neighborhood chillifest contest and earned the people's choice award. I added beef broth instead of just plain water to add flavor and get desired consistency.Put more hot chili flakes and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
So this was the first recipe I have used from this site. After reading some reviews I decided to pick this one & I'm glad I did. This chili was AWESOME! Now Jennifer did a great job of coming up with this but I twicked it a little. Instead of stew tomatoes I went with fire roasted. I didn't go with the carrots(don't really understand why you would use those) I also had some chipotle seasoning that I got from New Mexico so used that instead of the chili seasoning. I did use 1 ca of beans but i suggest using 2 can instead. Last but not least I'm in Kentucky so instead of using the white wine, that's right i went with bourbon instead. I went with Four Roses Single Barrel(no measuring just eye it by taste). The bourbon really ups the spice flavor in the whole meal. Award winning chili, u bet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheVille
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My family enjoyed this recipe. I added green onion and crushed corn chips for more color and texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Thanks to this recipe I won a chili cook off contest 10-28-11. I did change it up a bit. I added 2 parts ground beef to 1 part hot italian sausage. I also used hot (chili ready) kidney beans as well as hot (chili ready) stewed tomatoes. This gave it an added kick that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I've never cooked Chili before... Had a cook off at work and won it with this recipe by a landslide. Thanks for the recipe!!! It was delicious!!! And I won...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States