Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I'm a big fan of chili but make mine way WAAAY to hot for the average person and thus I've not been breaking the top three in our annual chili cookoff. I tried this recipe tonight and so far it's delicious. I used ground sirloin and due to the dryness of the beef I had to add one can of tomato sauce to balance out the moisture. To give it my signature heat, I added three habaneros. I did not add the carrots, celery, cilantro or parsley, solely because I know what these judges like. I'll try to report back tomorrow how the event goes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is an amazing Chili. I make it all the time and get rave reviews. I pretty much follow the recipe as is and it is always a crowd pleaser. It's easy to make so it's become one of my go to recipes when I am having a crowd for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Best chili we've had. All our friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this and it was awesome!!! Even my daughter loved it and normally she eats one bowl of my chili but she ate two with this time. It was a little to thick for us but I added some tomato juice to thin it out to the way I liked it. I didn't add no carrots to mine and it still came out great. I recommend this recipe. Even your picky eaters will like this. It's also good on nachos and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle37185

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This has been my go-to chili recipe for >10 years. Yes, it's been on the site that long! Over the years, some things happen that make you flex a bit. Like oops - no white wine. Fine, use vinegar. Actually I might prefer the tanginess! The veggies, if I'm missing one or the other, I don't sweat it, but I do definitely try to get them in. The carrots are different, but they add some color and texture. If I'm missing tomato paste, it's still fine. It's better with the bacon, and it's better with the steak sauce. Family has come over and I've had leftovers on hand, and they have literally told me it's the best chili they've ever had. Well done Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Recipe was good. Made it exactly as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is our go to chili recipe. I have been making it longer than I can remember. Recently, I made another recipe based on what I had on hand....to which a disappointed husband followed. Reminded me of how much we love this recipe and wanted to make sure I came on to give it five stars! I do not make any changes only to simmer longer so the carrots are soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Excellent! I was a little skeptical of the carrot, bacon and A1 sauce. We all have our chili recipes and I of course thought, carrots don't go in chili. I urge you to try this recipe as is. All the flavors blend together beautifully and it is now my only chili recipe. I don't make chili weekly, so it's worth a little extra effort. I did thin it with a little tomato juice (that's what I had open in the fridge) as it was a tad to thick for me. Thank you Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this recipe with 2 lbs. of a combination of Johnsonville, hot and mild Itailian sausage. It is truly out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States