Award Winning Chili Con Carne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very good. Also, added cinnamon and corn. No need to thicken at end, it was thick enough. Topped with small cubes of cheddar cheese - made it more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Used slightly less oil. About half. Makes one mighty tasty chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
me and my partner loved this! However next time we will be reducing the amount of heat - a little 2 spicy but such a yummy recipe! I added a tsp of ground cinnamon to bring out the flavour and also added some sived tomatoes through out as it seemed to be getting a little thick! We served it with corn bread & sour cream! A keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clitheroe, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Absolutely fantastic dish!!! I served this at my mates house who had a few people over to watch the rugby world cup final and it went down a storm!!!(unlike the result!!). I didnt add the tabasco because i thought it was hot enough, but did serve it with some fresh chopped chillies to add as people thought necessary, and with creme fresh for a couple of the girls to "calm it down". Thanks for the recipe!!! Thought i'd leave some feedback as i'm making it again tonight!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Excellent. The whole family loves it and it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This chili was better than I expected! I left out the cayenne pepper and the hot sauce since my kids would be eating it too. It took a long time to make but it was SO worth it. I whipped up a batch of cornbread muffins to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Substituted ground turkey and veg bouillon for the beef -- my guests didn't even notice. It was great served in Italian Bread Bowls (this site). Unless you know everyone likes it hot, put a bottle of Tobasco and chili flakes on the table, instead of adding it all to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My children usually don't care for anything with whole or diced tomato. We all loved it..I will make it again! I did not add any flour or cornmeal, I used a port wine and added some canned corn and served it with homemade cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have always made chili the way my mom made it. I wanted to try something different and this was a great success! My mom and husband and I all loved it. This chili recipe is definately a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this chili to take to a wake. (unfortunately) The family loved it! Within 10 minutes my 2qt. crock pot was EMPTY. I forgot the Tabasco at the end and that would have made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States