Award Winning Chili Con Carne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is the first recipe my family has truly disliked. They ask me not to "ever" make it again. They said all you could taste was tomato paste and tomatoes. There was NO cumin in this recipe. Most chili recipes call for cumin. No beer either. Guess that's what happens when you follow the recipe EXACTLY and not make any adjustments from reviewers (minor adjustment was to only add 5 drops of tabasco instead of 10). I figured since it said "Award Winning" that meant something. I guess not everyone has the same tastes when it comes to chili's. I have made SEVERAL chili recipes from this site and they have enjoyed all of them on star level of 4 or 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is just such a great chili recipe! I have one of my own that I have been making for years but this one just looked better so I gave it a try. I wanted to stick to ChefJimmy's recipe but ended up playing with it just a little...I always fry my spice off with the onion to avoid any raw chili taste - this also seems to intensify the flavours. About 10 mins on a low heat does the trick. I used a red and yellow pepper as I am not a fan of green. I added cumin and cinnamon simply because I LoVe those flavours. I added more tinned tomarto because we like our chili a little soupy... This clings to the pasta I serve it on. My only other addition was a handful of coriander again because I LoVe the flavour. Served topped with a good sharp greated cheese and sour cream. This is the best chili I have ever made and it is much, much better than mine. Thanks ChefJimmy! Hope you don't mind all the additions! Smiles from Australia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this for the first time the other night. The flavor was phenomenal (I tried the cinnamon idea from below, which gave it a yummy kick), and it was pretty easy to make. The only problem was that it was ridiculously thick, even after adding all the additional tomato juice. My husband laughed when I told him that we were supposed to add the flour and cornmeal at the end to "thicken it up" since it was already almost dough-y anyway. Since I'm pretty new to the whole cooking business, I was afraid to add anything for fear that I would ruin the flavor. Any suggestions for an easy way to thin it out while retaining the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
We loved it! Added 1/2 tsp cumin, 3/4 tsp corriander, 3/4 tsp cinnamon, 1 can of rotel, and 1 can of southwestern corn and peppers. I did not use the Tabasco sauce, flour or corn meal and the thickeness was just perfect for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Pretty good! I doubled the beans and added mushrooms to it... next time I'll cut out the tobasco and add another tablespoon of chili powder (not that I don't like it - I DO!.. but there's not enough chili flavour in it.) Very hearty and thick - couldn't imagine that it would need thickening.. cause I didn't need it - even after adding all the juice from the tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
me and my partner loved this! However next time we will be reducing the amount of heat - a little 2 spicy but such a yummy recipe! I added a tsp of ground cinnamon to bring out the flavour and also added some sived tomatoes through out as it seemed to be getting a little thick! We served it with corn bread & sour cream! A keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clitheroe, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
All it needs is one more 12 oz can of red kidney beans! Also, I used 1 tsp of coarse kosher salt (recipe didn't specify) and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I'm giving this a full five stars, it was that good. Added 2 small very finely chopped carrots and celery sticks (as long as they are very finely chopped it's an amazing addition) and now and again I add a bit of squash. Also add a can of corn to the mix, bay leaf and cumin. Left out the flour etc, just boiled a bit more to evaporate extra moisture. Really really good. Excellent recipe thanks! A firm favourite in this house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
The consistency & texture was awful. Tasted more like sloppy joes than chili. I followed the recipe exactly. Would not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Best chili recipe ever! it's hearty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States