Award Winning Chili Con Carne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I have always made chili the way my mom made it. I wanted to try something different and this was a great success! My mom and husband and I all loved it. This chili recipe is definately a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My children usually don't care for anything with whole or diced tomato. We all loved it..I will make it again! I did not add any flour or cornmeal, I used a port wine and added some canned corn and served it with homemade cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Pretty good! I doubled the beans and added mushrooms to it... next time I'll cut out the tobasco and add another tablespoon of chili powder (not that I don't like it - I DO!.. but there's not enough chili flavour in it.) Very hearty and thick - couldn't imagine that it would need thickening.. cause I didn't need it - even after adding all the juice from the tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is just such a great chili recipe! I have one of my own that I have been making for years but this one just looked better so I gave it a try. I wanted to stick to ChefJimmy's recipe but ended up playing with it just a little...I always fry my spice off with the onion to avoid any raw chili taste - this also seems to intensify the flavours. About 10 mins on a low heat does the trick. I used a red and yellow pepper as I am not a fan of green. I added cumin and cinnamon simply because I LoVe those flavours. I added more tinned tomarto because we like our chili a little soupy... This clings to the pasta I serve it on. My only other addition was a handful of coriander again because I LoVe the flavour. Served topped with a good sharp greated cheese and sour cream. This is the best chili I have ever made and it is much, much better than mine. Thanks ChefJimmy! Hope you don't mind all the additions! Smiles from Australia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Ihave made this twice now, and it gets rave reviews! A friend even bought the ingredients and got me to make it for her so she could serve it to her brother, who really knows his chili, and he said it was the best he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is the first recipe my family has truly disliked. They ask me not to "ever" make it again. They said all you could taste was tomato paste and tomatoes. There was NO cumin in this recipe. Most chili recipes call for cumin. No beer either. Guess that's what happens when you follow the recipe EXACTLY and not make any adjustments from reviewers (minor adjustment was to only add 5 drops of tabasco instead of 10). I figured since it said "Award Winning" that meant something. I guess not everyone has the same tastes when it comes to chili's. I have made SEVERAL chili recipes from this site and they have enjoyed all of them on star level of 4 or 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Substituted ground turkey and veg bouillon for the beef -- my guests didn't even notice. It was great served in Italian Bread Bowls (this site). Unless you know everyone likes it hot, put a bottle of Tobasco and chili flakes on the table, instead of adding it all to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orgle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This chili was better than I expected! I left out the cayenne pepper and the hot sauce since my kids would be eating it too. It took a long time to make but it was SO worth it. I whipped up a batch of cornbread muffins to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very good. Also, added cinnamon and corn. No need to thicken at end, it was thick enough. Topped with small cubes of cheddar cheese - made it more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Chili

A tangy, spicy ground beef and kidney bean chili you make in the slow cooker.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States